Every applicant for an employment agency manager's license or a counselor's license shall, before the department issues a license, be required to take and successfully complete a written examination conducted by the department or its authorized representative of such nature and scope as will be sufficient in the judgment of the department to establish the competency of the applicant to operate and conduct an employment agency or to perform services as a counselor for such agency. The examination for a license to manage an employment agency shall be more exacting and shall require a higher standard of knowledge as to the fundamentals of operating an employment agency and of the law and rules pertaining thereto, than that for a counselor's license. No examination shall be required for the renewal of any license unless such license has theretofore been revoked or suspended. Provided, however, that any licensee having been licensed to conduct an employment agency or as a counselor in the state of Minnesota who shall fail to renew the license within 90 days after the date of expiration may be required by the department to again take an examination.
The department shall hold such examinations at such times and places as it shall determine. An examination fee of $20 shall be paid by each applicant in addition to the license fee, which examination fee shall be retained by the department whether or not the applicant passes the examination. The examination fee shall be forfeited if the applicant does not take the examination within six months of the application date. The examination fee of $20 shall cover the costs of preparing and printing the examinations and the cost of giving each person taking the examination a copy of the latest rules. Rules shall be kept on the premises readily available to the counselor, manager, or agent.
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes