Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


A city may assess a penalty up to one percent of the market value of real property, including any building located within the city that the city determines to be hazardous as defined in section 463.15, subdivision 3. The city shall send a written notice to the address to which the property tax statement is sent at least 90 days before it may assess the penalty. If the owner of the property has not paid the penalty or fixed the property within 90 days after receiving notice of the penalty, the penalty is considered delinquent and is increased by 25 percent each 60 days the penalty is not paid and the property remains hazardous. For the purposes of this section, a penalty that is delinquent is considered a delinquent property tax and subject to chapters 279, 280, and 281, in the same manner as delinquent property taxes.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes