Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Residential care.

The commissioner of human services may continue to provide residential care in regional treatment centers.

Subd. 2.Technical assistance.

To the extent of available money, the commissioner of human services may expand the capacity to provide technical assistance to community providers in handling the behavior problems of their patients. Technical assistance may include site visits, consultation with providers, or provider training.

Subd. 3.Respite care.

Respite care may be provided in a regional treatment center when space is available if (1) payment for 20 percent of the prevailing facility per diem is guaranteed by the person, the person's family or legal representative, or a source other than a direct state appropriation to the regional treatment center and (2) provision of respite care to the individual meets the facility's admission criteria and licensing standards. The parent or guardian must consent to admission and sign a waiver of liability. Respite care is limited to 30 days within a calendar year. No preadmission screening process is required for a respite care stay under this subdivision.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes