MN Legislature


Revisor of Statutes Menu



2011 Minnesota Statutes

This is an historical version of this statute chapter. Also view the most recent published version.


Subdivision 1.Membership.

Four community-specific boards are created. Each board consists of five members. The chair of each of the following groups shall appoint the board for the community represented by the group: the Indian Affairs Council; the Council on Affairs of Chicano/Latino people; the Council on Black Minnesotans; and the Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans. In making appointments, the chair must consult with other members of the council.

Subd. 2.Compensation; chair.

Members do not receive compensation but are entitled to receive reimbursement for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred.

Subd. 3.Meetings.

Each board shall meet regularly at the request of the appointing chair or the ombudsperson.

Subd. 4.Duties.

Each board shall appoint the ombudsperson for its community. Each board shall advise and assist the ombudsperson for its community in selecting matters for attention; developing policies, plans, and programs to carry out the ombudspersons' functions and powers; establishing protocols for working with the communities of color; developing procedures for the ombudspersons' use of the subpoena power to compel testimony and evidence from nonagency individuals; and making reports and recommendations for changes designed to improve standards of competence, efficiency, justice, and protection of rights.

Subd. 5.Terms, compensation, removal, and expiration.

The membership terms, compensation, and removal of members of each board and the filling of membership vacancies are governed by section 15.0575.

Subd. 6.Joint meetings.

The members of the four community-specific boards shall meet jointly at least four times each year to advise the ombudspersons on overall policies, plans, protocols, and programs for the office.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569