Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


(a) A radiation therapy facility may be constructed only by an entity owned, operated, or controlled by a hospital licensed according to sections 144.50 to 144.56 either alone or in cooperation with another entity.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), there shall be a moratorium on the construction of any radiation therapy facility located in the following counties: Hennepin, Ramsey, Dakota, Washington, Anoka, Carver, Scott, St. Louis, Sherburne, Benton, Stearns, Chisago, Isanti, and Wright. This paragraph does not apply to the relocation or reconstruction of an existing facility owned by a hospital if the relocation or reconstruction is within one mile of the existing facility. This paragraph does not apply to a radiation therapy facility that is being built attached to a community hospital in Wright County and meets the following conditions prior to August 1, 2007: the capital expenditure report required under Minnesota Statutes, section 62J.17, has been filed with the commissioner of health; a timely construction schedule is developed, stipulating dates for beginning, achieving various stages, and completing construction; and all zoning and building permits applied for. This paragraph expires August 1, 2014.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes