Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Certification application.

(a) An individual must file an application and application fee with the commissioner to represent an elevator boring contractor.

(b) The application must state the applicant's qualifications for the certification, and other information required by the commissioner. The application must be on forms prescribed by the commissioner.

Subd. 2.Certification application fee.

The application fee for certification as a representative of an elevator boring contractor is $75. The commissioner may not act on an application until the application fee is paid.

Subd. 3.Examination.

After the commissioner has approved the application, the applicant must take an examination given by the commissioner.

Subd. 3a.Issuance of certification.

If the applicant meets the experience requirements established by rule and passes the examination as determined by the commissioner, the commissioner shall issue the applicant a certification to represent an elevator boring contractor.

Subd. 4.Issuance of license.

If a person employs a certified representative, submits the bond under subdivision 5, and pays the license fee under subdivision 6, the commissioner shall issue an elevator boring contractor's license to the applicant.

Subd. 5.Bond.

(a) As a condition of being issued an elevator boring contractor's license, the applicant must submit a corporate surety bond for $10,000 approved by the commissioner. The bond must be conditioned to pay the state on performance of work in this state that is not in compliance with this chapter or rules adopted under this chapter.

(b) From proceeds of the bond, the commissioner may compensate persons injured or suffering financial loss because of a failure of the applicant to perform work or duties in compliance with this chapter or rules adopted under this chapter.

Subd. 6.License fee.

The fee for an elevator shaft contractor's license is $75.

Subd. 7.Validity.

An elevator boring contractor's license is valid until the date prescribed in the license by the commissioner.

Subd. 8.Renewal.

(a) A person must file an application and a renewal application fee to renew the license by the date stated in the license.

(b) The renewal application fee for an elevator boring contractor's license is $75.

(c) The renewal application must include information that the certified representative of the applicant has met continuing education requirements established by the commissioner by rule.

(d) At the time of renewal, the commissioner must have on file all reports and permits for elevator boring work conducted by the licensee since the last license renewal.

Subd. 9.Incomplete or late renewal.

If a licensee fails to submit all information required for renewal in subdivision 8 or submits the application and information after the required renewal date:

(1) the licensee must include a late fee of $75; and

(2) the licensee may not conduct activities authorized by the elevator boring contractor's license until the renewal application, renewal application fee, and late fee, and all other information required in subdivision 8 are submitted.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes