Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Poundmasters shall be allowed fees in amounts determined by the town board for:

(1) taking animals into the pound and discharging them;

(2) keeping animals in pound; and

(3) selling impounded animals.

The poundmaster shall have a lien on impounded animals for fees, which shall be paid before the animals are discharged. If not discharged within four days, they shall be advertised by the poundmaster for sale at public auction to the highest bidder, at the place where impounded, upon 15 days' posted notice. At the time and place fixed by the notice the poundmaster shall sell the animals pursuant to the notice. Out of the money received from the sale the poundmaster shall deduct fees and charges. The poundmaster shall pay the balance to the chair of the town board and, at the same time, deliver to the chair a correct written description of each animal sold and a statement of the amount received for it. The poundmaster shall take duplicate receipts for the animals, one of which shall be filed with the clerk. If the owner of an animal sold appears within 30 days, the money received by the chair shall be paid to the owner. If not claimed within that time, it shall be paid into the town treasury.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes