(a) Families with children with family income equal to or less than 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size shall be eligible for MinnesotaCare according to this section. All other provisions of sections 256L.01 to 256L.18, including the insurance-related barriers to enrollment under section 256L.07, shall apply unless otherwise specified.
(b) Parents who enroll in the MinnesotaCare program must also enroll their children, if the children are eligible. Children may be enrolled separately without enrollment by parents. However, if one parent in the household enrolls, both parents must enroll, unless other insurance is available. If one child from a family is enrolled, all children must be enrolled, unless other insurance is available. If one spouse in a household enrolls, the other spouse in the household must also enroll, unless other insurance is available. Families cannot choose to enroll only certain uninsured members.
(c) Beginning October 1, 2003, the dependent sibling definition no longer applies to the MinnesotaCare program. These persons are no longer counted in the parental household and may apply as a separate household.
(d) Beginning July 1, 2003, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, parents are not eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross income exceeds $57,500.
(e) Children formerly enrolled in medical assistance and automatically deemed eligible for MinnesotaCare according to section 256B.057, subdivision 2c, are exempt from the requirements of this section until renewal.
(a) Individuals and families applying for MinnesotaCare coverage must provide a Social Security number.
(b) The commissioner shall not deny eligibility to an otherwise eligible applicant who has applied for a Social Security number and is awaiting issuance of that Social Security number.
(c) Newborns enrolled under section 256L.05, subdivision 3, are exempt from the requirements of this subdivision.
(d) Individuals who refuse to provide a Social Security number because of well-established religious objections are exempt from the requirements of this subdivision. The term "well-established religious objections" has the meaning given in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.910.
(a) To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals and families must cooperate with the state agency to identify potentially liable third-party payers and assist the state in obtaining third-party payments. "Cooperation" includes, but is not limited to, complying with the notice requirements in section 256B.056, subdivision 9, identifying any third party who may be liable for care and services provided under MinnesotaCare to the enrollee, providing relevant information to assist the state in pursuing a potentially liable third party, and completing forms necessary to recover third-party payments.
(b) A parent, guardian, relative caretaker, or child enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program must cooperate with the Department of Human Services and the local agency in establishing the paternity of an enrolled child and in obtaining medical care support and payments for the child and any other person for whom the person can legally assign rights, in accordance with applicable laws and rules governing the medical assistance program. A child shall not be ineligible for or disenrolled from the MinnesotaCare program solely because the child's parent, relative caretaker, or guardian fails to cooperate in establishing paternity or obtaining medical support.
To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, individuals and families must take all necessary steps to obtain other benefits as described in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 435.608. Applicants and enrollees must apply for other benefits within 30 days of notification.
(a) The definition of eligible persons includes all individuals and households with no children who have gross family incomes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.
(b) Effective July 1, 2009, the definition of eligible persons includes all individuals and households with no children who have gross family incomes that are equal to or less than 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.
Applicants whose income is greater than the limits established under this section may not enroll in the MinnesotaCare program.
The commissioner shall adjust the income limits under this section each July 1 by the annual update of the federal poverty guidelines following publication by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
(a) Individuals who receive supplemental security income or retirement, survivors, or disability benefits due to a disability, or other disability-based pension, who qualify under subdivision 7, but who are potentially eligible for medical assistance without a spenddown shall be allowed to enroll in MinnesotaCare for a period of 60 days, so long as the applicant meets all other conditions of eligibility. The commissioner shall identify and refer the applications of such individuals to their county social service agency. The county and the commissioner shall cooperate to ensure that the individuals obtain medical assistance coverage for any months for which they are eligible.
(b) The enrollee must cooperate with the county social service agency in determining medical assistance eligibility within the 60-day enrollment period. Enrollees who do not cooperate with medical assistance within the 60-day enrollment period shall be disenrolled from the plan within one calendar month. Persons disenrolled for nonapplication for medical assistance may not reenroll until they have obtained a medical assistance eligibility determination. Persons disenrolled for noncooperation with medical assistance may not reenroll until they have cooperated with the county agency and have obtained a medical assistance eligibility determination.
(c) Beginning January 1, 2000, counties that choose to become MinnesotaCare enrollment sites shall consider MinnesotaCare applications to also be applications for medical assistance. Applicants who are potentially eligible for medical assistance, except for those described in paragraph (a), may choose to enroll in either MinnesotaCare or medical assistance.
(d) The commissioner shall redetermine provider payments made under MinnesotaCare to the appropriate medical assistance payments for those enrollees who subsequently become eligible for medical assistance.
A person cannot have coverage under both MinnesotaCare and general assistance medical care in the same month. Eligibility for MinnesotaCare cannot be replaced by eligibility for general assistance medical care, and eligibility for general assistance medical care cannot be replaced by eligibility for MinnesotaCare.
Eligibility for MinnesotaCare is limited to citizens or nationals of the United States, qualified noncitizens, and other persons residing lawfully in the United States as described in section 256B.06, subdivision 4, paragraphs (a) to (e) and (j). Undocumented noncitizens and nonimmigrants are ineligible for MinnesotaCare. For purposes of this subdivision, a nonimmigrant is an individual in one or more of the classes listed in United States Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(15), and an undocumented noncitizen is an individual who resides in the United States without the approval or acquiescence of the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services. Families with children who are citizens or nationals of the United States must cooperate in obtaining satisfactory documentary evidence of citizenship or nationality according to the requirements of the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law 109-171.
When determining eligibility for any federal or state benefits under sections 256L.01 to 256L.18, the income and resources of all noncitizens whose sponsor signed an affidavit of support as defined under United States Code, title 8, section 1183a, shall be deemed to include their sponsors' income and resources as defined in the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996, title IV, Public Law 104-193, sections 421 and 422, and subsequently set out in federal rules. To be eligible for the program, noncitizens must provide documentation of their immigration status.
Beginning January 1, 1999, an applicant residing in a correctional or detention facility is not eligible for MinnesotaCare. An enrollee residing in a correctional or detention facility is not eligible at renewal of eligibility under section 256L.05, subdivision 3a.
Beginning January 1, 1999, in families that include a relative caretaker as defined in the medical assistance program, foster parent, or legal guardian, the relative caretaker, foster parent, or legal guardian may apply as a family or may apply separately for the children. If the caretaker applies separately for the children, only the children's income is counted and the provisions of subdivision 1, paragraph (b), do not apply. If the relative caretaker, foster parent, or legal guardian applies with the children, their income is included in the gross family income for determining eligibility and premium amount.
1986 c 444; 1992 c 549 art 4 s 5,19; 1993 c 247 art 4 s 5; 1993 c 345 art 9 s 4-6; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 52-55,72; art 13 s 2; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 6-9; 1997 c 85 art 3 s 9; 1997 c 203 art 12 s 1; 1997 c 225 art 1 s 4-8; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 17-25; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 91-94; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 73,74; 2005 c 98 art 2 s 16; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 61-63; 2006 c 282 art 17 s 35; 2007 c 13 art 1 s 25; 2007 c 147 art 4 s 9; art 5 s 23; art 13 s 2; 2008 c 358 art 3 s 6,7
NOTE: Subdivisions 1a and 2a, as added by Laws 2005, First Special Session chapter 4, article 8, sections 61 and 63, are effective August 1, 2007, or upon HealthMatch implementation, whichever is later. Laws 2005, First Special Session chapter 4, article 8, sections 61 and 63, the effective dates.
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1, paragraph (e), by Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 2, is effective October 1, 2008, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2007, chapter 147, article 13, section 2, the effective date.
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1, paragraph (d), changing $50,000 to $57,500 for gross income by Laws 2008, chapter 358, article 3, section 6, is effective July 1, 2010, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Laws 2008, chapter 358, article 3, section 6, the effective date.
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes