Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Chapter 97A

Section 97A.485

Topics

Recent History

97A.485 ISSUANCE OF LICENSES.
    Subdivision 1. Commissioner. The commissioner shall issue and sell licenses. The
commissioner shall furnish licenses and applications to agents authorized to issue licenses.
    Subd. 1a.[Repealed, 1992 c 513 art 3 s 79]
    Subd. 2.[Repealed, 2004 c 255 s 51]
    Subd. 2a. Licenses to take additional deer. The commissioner may appoint federal, state,
or local government employees to be agents of the commissioner for the sale of licenses or
permits to take additional deer under section 97B.301, subdivision 4. A bond is not required of a
government employee appointed under this subdivision.
    Subd. 3. Appointment of agents. The commissioner may appoint agents of the commissioner
to issue and sell licenses. The appointment may be revoked by the commissioner at any time.
    Subd. 4. Application to sell licenses by agent. To be an agent, a person must apply to the
commissioner in writing and in a manner approved by the commissioner.
    Subd. 5. Agents responsible for fees. An agent must promptly deposit and remit all money
received from the sale of licenses, except issuing fees, to the commissioner.
    Subd. 6. Licenses to be sold and issuing fees. (a) Persons authorized to sell licenses under
this section must issue the following licenses for the license fee and the following issuing fees:
(1) to take deer or bear with firearms and by archery, the issuing fee is $1;
(2) Minnesota sporting, the issuing fee is $1; and
(3) to take small game, to take fish by angling or by spearing, and to trap fur-bearing
animals, the issuing fee is $1;
(4) for a stamp that is not issued simultaneously with a license, an issuing fee of 50 cents
may be charged at the discretion of the authorized seller;
(5) for stamps issued simultaneously with a license, there is no fee;
(6) for licenses, seals, tags, or coupons issued without a fee under section 97A.441 or
97A.465, an issuing fee of 50 cents may be charged at the discretion of the authorized seller;
(7) for lifetime licenses, there is no fee; and
(8) for all other licenses, permits, renewals, or applications or any other transaction through
the electronic licensing system under this chapter or any other chapter when an issuing fee is not
specified, an issuing fee of 50 cents may be charged at the discretion of the authorized seller.
(b) An issuing fee may not be collected for issuance of a trout and salmon stamp if a stamp
validation is issued simultaneously with the related angling or sporting license. Only one issuing
fee may be collected when selling more than one trout and salmon stamp in the same transaction
after the end of the season for which the stamp was issued.
(c) The agent shall keep the issuing fee as a commission for selling the licenses.
(d) The commissioner shall collect the issuing fee on licenses sold by the commissioner.
(e) A license, except stamps, must state the amount of the issuing fee and that the issuing fee
is kept by the seller as a commission for selling the licenses.
(f) For duplicate licenses, including licenses issued without a fee, the issuing fees are:
(1) for licenses to take big game, 75 cents; and
(2) for other licenses, 50 cents.
(g) The commissioner may issue one-day angling licenses in books of ten licenses each to
fishing guides operating charter boats upon receipt of payment of all license fees, excluding the
issuing fee required under this section. Copies of sold and unsold licenses shall be returned to the
commissioner. The commissioner shall refund the charter boat captain for the license fees of all
unsold licenses. Copies of sold licenses shall be maintained by the commissioner for one year.
    Subd. 7. Electronic licensing system commission. The commissioner shall retain for the
operation of the electronic licensing system the commission established under section 84.027,
subdivision 15
, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner on all license fees collected,
excluding:
    (1) the small game surcharge;
    (2) the deer license surcharges or donations under section 97A.475, subdivisions 3,
paragraph (b), and 3a; and
    (3) $2.50 of the license fee for the licenses in section 97A.475, subdivisions 6, clauses
(1)
, (2), and (4), 7, 8, 12, and 13.
    Subd. 8.[Repealed, 2004 c 255 s 51]
    Subd. 9. Certain licenses not to be issued after season opens. A license to guide bear
hunters may not be issued after the day before the opening of the related firearms season.
    Subd. 10.[Repealed, 2004 c 255 s 51]
    Subd. 11. Rules for accounting and procedures. The commissioner shall prescribe rules for
the accounting and procedural requirements necessary to assure the efficient handling of licenses
and license fees. The commissioner may, by rule, establish standards for the appointment and
revocation of agents to assure the efficient distribution of licenses throughout the state.
    Subd. 12. Youth deer license. The commissioner may, for a fee of $5.50, issue to a resident
under the age of 16 a license, without a tag, to take deer with firearms. A youth holding a license
issued under this subdivision may hunt under the license only if accompanied by a licensed hunter
who is at least 18 years of age and possesses a valid tag. A deer taken by a youth holding a license
issued under this subdivision must be promptly tagged by the licensed hunter accompanying the
youth. Section 97B.301, subdivision 6, does not apply to a youth holding a license issued under
this subdivision.
    Subd. 13. One-day paper fishing licenses. The commissioner must allow one-day paper
fishing licenses to be sold by fishing guides operating charter boats.
History: 1986 c 386 art 1 s 70; 1987 c 404 s 132; 1988 c 437 s 3; 1989 c 287 s 4; 1989 c 335
art 1 s 124; 1990 c 608 art 7 s 1; 1991 c 227 s 1; 1991 c 254 art 2 s 33; 1991 c 259 s 23; 1992 c
462 s 14; 1993 c 231 s 28,29; 1993 c 310 s 5; 1994 c 561 s 21,22; 1994 c 623 art 1 s 25; 1994 c
632 art 2 s 25; 1997 c 226 s 25-27; 2000 c 463 s 14; 1Sp2001 c 2 s 116; 2002 c 376 s 9; 2003 c 128
art 1 s 74; 2004 c 255 s 32-37; 2005 c 146 s 20; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 102,103; 2007 c 57 art 1 s 96