Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Number of licenses; party size. The commissioner shall include in a rule
setting the dates for an elk season:
(1) the number of licenses to be issued; and
(2) the size of an elk hunting party, not to exceed two persons.
    Subd. 2. Eligibility. Persons eligible for an elk license shall be determined under this section
and commissioner's rule. A person is eligible for an elk license only if the person:
(1) is a resident;
(2) is at least age 16 before the season opens; and
(3) has never been issued an elk license.
    Subd. 3. Application for license. An application for an elk license must be on a form
provided by the commissioner and accompanied by a $10 nonrefundable application fee per
person. A person may not make more than one application for each season. If a person makes
more than one application, the person is ineligible for a license for that season after determination
by the commissioner, without a hearing.
    Subd. 4. Separate selection; eligibility. (a) The commissioner may conduct a separate
selection for up to 20 percent of the elk licenses to be issued for an area. Only owners of, and
tenants living on, at least 160 acres of agricultural or grazing land in the area, and their family
members, are eligible for the separate selection. Persons that are unsuccessful in a separate
selection must be included in the selection for the remaining licenses. Persons who obtain an elk
license in a separate selection must allow public elk hunting on their land during the elk season
for which the license is valid.
(b) The commissioner may by rule establish criteria for determining eligible family members
under this subdivision.
History: 1987 c 373 s 5; 1991 c 259 s 23; 1993 c 231 s 22,23

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes