Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Before the sale of property on execution notice shall be given as follows:
    (1) if the sale be of personal property, by giving ten days posted notice of the time and
place thereof;
    (2) if the sale be of real property, on execution or on judgment, by six weeks posted and
published notice of the time and place thereof, describing the property with sufficient certainty to
enable a person of common understanding to identify it; and
    (3) a judgment creditor shall record a certified copy of the order directing sale of real
property issued pursuant to section 550.175, if the real property is a homestead, with the county
recorder or registrar of titles as appropriate in the county in which the real property is located
before the first date of publication of the notice of sale required under clause (2).
    An officer who sells without such notice shall forfeit $100 to the party aggrieved, in addition
to paying actual damages; and a person who before the sale or the satisfaction of the execution,
and without the consent of the parties, takes down or defaces the notice posted, shall forfeit
$50; but the validity of the sale shall not be affected by either act, either as to third persons or
parties to the action.
History: (9433) RL s 4304; 1986 c 444; 2007 c 105 s 8; 2007 c 106 s 16

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes