Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    (a) A person contracting to do gas, heating, ventilation, cooling, air conditioning, fuel
burning, or refrigeration work must give bond to the state in the amount of $25,000 for all work
entered into within the state. The bond must be for the benefit of persons suffering financial loss
by reason of the contractor's failure to comply with the requirements of the State Mechanical
Code. A bond given to the state must be filed with the commissioner of labor and industry and is
in lieu of all other bonds to any political subdivision required for work covered by this section.
The bond must be written by a corporate surety licensed to do business in the state.
    (b) The commissioner of labor and industry may charge each person giving bond under
this section an annual bond filing fee of $15.
History: 1Sp2003 c 1 art 2 s 83; 2007 c 135 art 4 s 9; 2007 c 140 art 4 s 28

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes