Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

272.025 FILING REQUIREMENT.
    Subdivision 1. Statement of exemption. (a) Except in the case of churches and houses of
worship, property solely used for educational purposes by academies, colleges, universities or
seminaries of learning, property owned by the state of Minnesota or any political subdivision
thereof, and property exempt from taxation under section 272.02, subdivisions 9, 10, 13, 15, 18,
20, and 22
to 26, and at the times provided in subdivision 3, a taxpayer claiming an exemption
from taxation on property described in section 272.02, subdivisions 1 to 33, shall file a statement
of exemption with the assessor of the assessment district in which the property is located.
(b) A taxpayer claiming an exemption from taxation on property described in section 272.02,
subdivision 10
, shall file a statement of exemption with the commissioner or revenue, on or before
February 15 of each year for which the taxpayer claims an exemption.
(c) In case of sickness, absence or other disability or for good cause, the assessor may extend
the time for filing the statement of exemption for a period not to exceed 60 days.
(d) The commissioner of revenue shall prescribe the form and contents of the statement of
exemption.
    Subd. 2. Verification. Upon the written request of the assessor, the taxpayer filing a
statement of exemption shall make available to the assessor all books and records relating to the
ownership or use of property which are reasonably necessary to verify that the property qualifies
for exemption.
    Subd. 3. Filing dates. The statement required by subdivision 1, paragraph (a), must be filed
with the assessor by February 1 of the assessment year, however, any taxpayer who has filed the
statement required by subdivision 1 more than 12 months prior to February 1, 1983, or February 1
of each third year after 1983, shall file a statement by February 1, 1983, and by February 1 of
each third year thereafter.
    Subd. 4. Knowing violation. No property subject to the requirements of this section shall be
exempt from taxation under section 272.02 if the taxpayer claiming the exemption knowingly
violates any of the provisions of this section.
History: 1975 c 352 s 2; 1Sp1981 c 1 art 8 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1989 c 1 art 3 s 5; 1991 c
291 art 12 s 5; 1993 c 375 art 3 s 9; 1994 c 416 art 1 s 10; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2