221.60 REGISTRATION OF INTERSTATE CARRIER.
Subdivision 1. Procedure.
A motor carrier may transport persons or property for hire in
interstate commerce in Minnesota only if it first:
(1) complies with section
(2) either registers with the commissioner the federal operating authority that it intends to
exercise, or registers and describes the transportation it performs under an exemption contained
in United States Code, title 49; and
(3) purchases an interstate identification stamp or an interstate registration trip permit for
each vehicle to be used in interstate transportation in Minnesota.
Subd. 2. Form and fees.
A motor carrier engaged in interstate commerce shall register
its interstate transportation authority or exemption before February 1 of each year on a form
prescribed by the commissioner. The fee for the initial registration is $25. The fee for each
identification stamp is $5; however, a lesser fee may be collected pursuant to a reciprocal
agreement authorized by section
. In addition to the fees required by this subdivision, a
motor carrier shall pay a service charge of 45 cents for each stamp or card issued.
Subd. 3. Failure to register.
Failure to register for three consecutive years cancels the
carrier's registration. The commissioner must give 30-days' notice of the cancellation to the carrier
at the carrier's last known address.
Subd. 3a. Failure to maintain insurance.
If a carrier fails to maintain and file with
the commissioner the insurance or bond required by section
and the rules of the
commissioner, the commissioner shall suspend and cancel the carrier's interstate registration
according to the procedure in section
221.185, subdivisions 2, paragraphs (a)
and (b), clause
(1); and 3. If the carrier fails to comply with section
within 45 days of the date of
suspension, the commissioner shall cancel the carrier's interstate registration until the carrier files
and maintains insurance as required by section
and rules of the commissioner. The
commissioner shall notify the carrier of the cancellation.
Subd. 4. Cab card.
A carrier required to register under this section shall obtain the National
Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners cab card described in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 49, section 1023.36, and affix the stamp to the cab card. A cab card bearing a
current Minnesota interstate identification stamp must be carried in the cab of a vehicle operated
for hire in interstate commerce in Minnesota.
Subd. 5. Temporary interstate registration.
An interstate registration trip permit valid for
ten days from the date of issue may be issued to a motor carrier engaged in interstate commerce
(1) complies with section
(2) either registers its interstate operating authority or registers and describes the
transportation it performs under an exemption contained in the Interstate Commerce Act, United
States Code, title 49; and
(3) pays a state fee of $5 for each permit.
Subd. 6. Transfer of authorization document.
A motor carrier engaged in interstate
commerce may not transfer or sell or allow another carrier to use its interstate identification
stamp, its interstate registration trip permit, or its cab card. However, a cab card and identification
stamp may be transferred to a leased vehicle operated under the authority of the motor carrier to
whom the cab card and identification stamp were issued.
History: 1985 c 299 s 27; 1987 c 393 art 2 s 8; 1989 c 318 s 16; 1992 c 578 s 46; 2003 c
2 art 4 s 8