Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

21.891 FEES.
    Subdivision 1. Sampling export seed. In accordance with section 21.85, subdivision 13, the
commissioner may, if requested, sample seed destined for export to other countries. The fee for
sampling export seed is an hourly rate published annually by the commissioner and it must be an
amount sufficient to recover the actual costs of the service provided.
    Subd. 2. Seed fee permits. (a) An initial labeler who wishes to sell seed in Minnesota must
comply with section 21.89, subdivisions 1 and 2, and the procedures in this subdivision. Each
initial labeler who wishes to sell seed in Minnesota must apply to the commissioner to obtain a
permit. The application must contain the name and address of the applicant, the application date,
and the name and title of the applicant's contact person.
(b) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause (1),
must be accompanied by an application fee of $50.
(c) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause (2),
must be accompanied by an application fee based on the level of annual gross sales as follows:
(1) for gross sales of $0 to $25,000, the annual permit fee is $50;
(2) for gross sales of $25,001 to $50,000, the annual permit fee is $100;
(3) for gross sales of $50,001 to $100,000, the annual permit fee is $200;
(4) for gross sales of $100,001 to $250,000, the annual permit fee is $500;
(5) for gross sales of $250,001 to $500,000, the annual permit fee is $1,000; and
(6) for gross sales of $500,001 and above, the annual permit fee is $2,000.
(d) The application for a seed permit covered by section 21.89, subdivision 2, clause (3), must
be accompanied by an application fee of $50. Initial labelers holding seed fee permits covered
under this paragraph need not apply for a new permit or pay the application fee. Under this permit
category, the fees for the following kinds of agricultural seed sold either in bulk or containers are:
(1) oats, wheat, and barley, 6.3 cents per hundredweight;
(2) rye, field beans, soybeans, buckwheat, and flax, 8.4 cents per hundredweight;
(3) field corn, 29.4 cents per hundredweight;
(4) forage, lawn and turf grasses, and legumes, 49 cents per hundredweight;
(5) sunflower, $1.40 per hundredweight;
(6) sugar beet, $3.29 per hundredweight; and
(7) for any agricultural seed not listed in clauses (1) to (6), the fee for the crop most closely
resembling it in normal planting rate applies.
(e) If, for reasons beyond the control and knowledge of the initial labeler, seed is shipped
into Minnesota by a person other than the initial labeler, the responsibility for the seed fees are
transferred to the shipper. An application for a transfer of this responsibility must be made to the
commissioner. Upon approval by the commissioner of the transfer, the shipper is responsible
for payment of the seed permit fees.
(f) Seed permit fees may be included in the cost of the seed either as a hidden cost or as
a line item cost on each invoice for seed sold. To identify the fee on an invoice, the words
"Minnesota seed permit fees" must be used.
(g) All seed fee permit holders must file semiannual reports with the commissioner, even if
no seed was sold during the reporting period. Each semiannual report must be submitted within
30 days of the end of each reporting period. The reporting periods are October 1 to March 31 and
April 1 to September 30 of each year or July 1 to December 31 and January 1 to June 30 of each
year. Permit holders may change their reporting periods with the approval of the commissioner.
(h) The holder of a seed fee permit must pay fees on all seed for which the permit holder is
the initial labeler and which are covered by sections 21.80 to 21.92 and sold during the reporting
period.
(i) If a seed fee permit holder fails to submit a semiannual report and pay the seed fee within
30 days after the end of each reporting period, the commissioner shall assess a penalty of $100 or
eight percent, calculated on an annual basis, of the fee due, whichever is greater, but no more than
$500 for each late semiannual report. A $15 penalty must be charged when the semiannual report
is late, even if no fee is due for the reporting period. Seed fee permits may be revoked for failure
to comply with the applicable provisions of this paragraph or the Minnesota seed law.
    Subd. 3.[Repealed, 2003 c 128 art 8 s 22]
    Subd. 4.[Repealed, 2003 c 128 art 8 s 22]
    Subd. 5. Brand name registration fee. The fee is $25 for each variety registered for sale
by brand name.
History: 2003 c 128 art 8 s 18