Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

171.27 EXPIRATION OF LICENSE.
The expiration date for each driver's license, other than under-21 licenses, is the birthday
of the driver in the fourth year following the date of issuance of the license. The birthday of the
driver shall be as indicated on the application for a driver's license. A license may be renewed on
or before expiration or within one year after expiration upon application, payment of the required
fee, and passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal. Driving privileges shall be
extended or renewed on or preceding the expiration date of an existing driver's license unless the
commissioner believes that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.
The expiration date for each under-21 license shall be the 21st birthday of the licensee. Upon
the licensee attaining the age of 21 and upon the application, payment of the required fee, and
passing the examination required of all drivers for renewal, a driver's license shall be issued unless
the commissioner determines that the licensee is no longer qualified as a driver.
The expiration date for each provisional license is two years after the date of application
for the provisional license.
Any valid Minnesota driver's license issued to a person then or subsequently on active duty
with the armed forces of the United States, or the person's spouse, shall continue in full force and
effect without requirement for renewal until 90 days after the date of the person's discharge from
such service, provided that a spouse's license must be renewed if the spouse is residing within
the state at the time the license expires or within 90 days after the spouse returns to Minnesota
and resides within the state.
History: (2720-146b) 1939 c 401 s 29; 1943 c 610 s 1; 1947 c 479 s 3; 1951 c 29 s 1; 1957
c 564 s 6; 1971 c 846 s 2; 1973 c 698 s 7; 1973 c 725 s 24; 1985 c 145 s 1; 1986 c 454 s 25;
1989 c 301 s 11; 1998 c 388 s 28