Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

CHAPTER 144D. HOUSING WITH SERVICES ESTABLISHMENT

Table of Sections
SectionHeadnote
144D.001APPLICATION OF LAWS 2005, CHAPTER 56, TERMINOLOGY CHANGES.
144D.01DEFINITIONS.
144D.015DEFINITION FOR PURPOSES OF LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE.
144D.02REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
144D.025OPTIONAL REGISTRATION.
144D.03REGISTRATION.
144D.04 HOUSING WITH SERVICES CONTRACTS.
144D.045144D.045 INFORMATION CONCERNING ARRANGED HOME CARE PROVIDERS.
144D.05AUTHORITY OF COMMISSIONER.
144D.06OTHER LAWS.
144D.065TRAINING IN DEMENTIA CARE REQUIRED.
144D.07RESTRAINTS.
144D.001 APPLICATION OF LAWS 2005, CHAPTER 56, TERMINOLOGY CHANGES.
State agencies shall use the terminology changes specified in Laws 2005, chapter 56, section
1, when printed material and signage are replaced and new printed material and signage are
obtained. State agencies do not have to replace existing printed material and signage to comply
with Laws 2005, chapter 56, sections 1 and 2. Language changes made according to Laws 2005,
chapter 56, sections 1 and 2, shall not expand or exclude eligibility to services.
History: 2005 c 56 s 3
144D.01 DEFINITIONS.
    Subdivision 1. Scope. As used in sections 144D.01 to 144D.06, the following terms have
the meanings given them.
    Subd. 2. Adult. "Adult" means a natural person who has attained the age of 18 years.
    Subd. 2a. Arranged home care provider. "Arranged home care provider" means a home
care provider licensed under Minnesota Rules, chapter 4668, that provides services to some or all
of the residents of a housing with services establishment and that is either the establishment itself
or another entity with which the establishment has an arrangement.
    Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of health or the
commissioner's designee.
    Subd. 4. Housing with services establishment or establishment. (a) "Housing with
services establishment" or "establishment" means:
(1) an establishment providing sleeping accommodations to one or more adult residents, at
least 80 percent of which are 55 years of age or older, and offering or providing, for a fee, one or
more regularly scheduled health-related services or two or more regularly scheduled supportive
services, whether offered or provided directly by the establishment or by another entity arranged
for by the establishment; or
(2) an establishment that registers under section 144D.025.
(b) Housing with services establishment does not include:
(1) a nursing home licensed under chapter 144A;
(2) a hospital, certified boarding care home, or supervised living facility licensed under
sections 144.50 to 144.56;
(3) a board and lodging establishment licensed under chapter 157 and Minnesota Rules, parts
9520.0500 to 9520.0670, 9525.0215 to 9525.0355, 9525.0500 to 9525.0660, or 9530.4100 to
9530.4450, or under chapter 245B;
(4) a board and lodging establishment which serves as a shelter for battered women or
other similar purpose;
(5) a family adult foster care home licensed by the Department of Human Services;
(6) private homes in which the residents are related by kinship, law, or affinity with the
providers of services;
(7) residential settings for persons with developmental disabilities in which the services are
licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2100 to 9525.2140, or applicable successor rules or
laws;
(8) a home-sharing arrangement such as when an elderly or disabled person or single-parent
family makes lodging in a private residence available to another person in exchange for services
or rent, or both;
(9) a duly organized condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or owners'
association of the foregoing where at least 80 percent of the units that comprise the condominium,
cooperative, or common interest community are occupied by individuals who are the owners,
members, or shareholders of the units; or
(10) services for persons with developmental disabilities that are provided under a license
according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2000 to 9525.2140 in effect until January 1, 1998, or
under chapter 245B.
    Subd. 5. Supportive services. "Supportive services" means help with personal laundry,
handling or assisting with personal funds of residents, or arranging for medical services,
health-related services, social services, or transportation to medical or social services
appointments. Arranging for services does not include making referrals, assisting a resident in
contacting a service provider of the resident's choice, or contacting a service provider in an
emergency.
    Subd. 6. Health-related services. "Health-related services" include professional nursing
services, home health aide tasks, and home care aide tasks identified in Minnesota Rules, parts
4668.0100, subparts 1 and 2; and 4668.0110, subpart 1; or the central storage of medication for
residents.
    Subd. 7. Family adult foster care home. "Family adult foster care home" means an adult
foster care home that is licensed by the Department of Human Services, that is the primary
residence of the license holder, and in which the license holder is the primary caregiver.
History: 1995 c 207 art 9 s 29; 1997 c 107 s 1; 1997 c 113 s 7-10; 3Sp1997 c 3 s 6; 1999 c
245 art 3 s 8; 2002 c 375 art 2 s 3; 2005 c 56 s 1; 2006 c 282 art 19 s 4
144D.015 DEFINITION FOR PURPOSES OF LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE.
For purposes of consistency with terminology commonly used in long-term care insurance
policies and notwithstanding chapter 144G, a housing with services establishment that is
registered under section 144D.03 and that holds, or makes arrangements with an individual or
entity that holds any type of home care license and all other licenses, permits, registrations, or
other governmental approvals legally required for delivery of the services the establishment offers
or provides to its residents, constitutes an "assisted living facility" or "assisted living residence."
History: 2004 c 185 s 1; 2006 c 282 art 19 s 5
144D.02 REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
No entity may establish, operate, conduct, or maintain a housing with services establishment
in this state without registering and operating as required in sections 144D.01 to 144D.06.
History: 1995 c 207 art 9 s 30; 2006 c 282 art 19 s 6
144D.025 OPTIONAL REGISTRATION.
An establishment that meets all the requirements of this chapter except that fewer than 80
percent of the adult residents are age 55 or older, or a supportive housing establishment developed
and funded in whole or in part with funds provided specifically as part of the plan to end long-term
homelessness required under Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 15, section 9, may, at its option,
register as a housing with services establishment.
History: 2002 c 375 art 2 s 4; 2005 c 159 art 5 s 2
144D.03 REGISTRATION.
    Subdivision 1. Registration procedures. The commissioner shall establish forms and
procedures for annual registration of housing with services establishments. The commissioner
shall charge an annual registration fee of $155. No fee shall be refunded. A registered
establishment shall notify the commissioner within 30 days of the date it is no longer required
to be registered under this chapter or of any change in the business name or address of the
establishment, the name or mailing address of the owner or owners, or the name or mailing
address of the managing agent. There shall be no fee for submission of the notice.
    Subd. 1a. Surcharge for injunctive relief actions. The commissioner shall assess each
housing with services establishment that offers or provides assisted living under chapter 144G a
surcharge on the annual registration fee paid under subdivision 1, to pay for the commissioner's
costs related to bringing actions for injunctive relief under section 144G.02, subdivision 2,
paragraph (b), on or after July 1, 2007. The commissioner shall assess surcharges using a sliding
scale under which the surcharge amount increases with the client capacity of an establishment.
The commissioner shall adjust the surcharge as necessary to recover the projected costs of
bringing actions for injunctive relief. The commissioner shall adjust the surcharge in accordance
with section 16A.1285.
    Subd. 2. Registration information. The establishment shall provide the following
information to the commissioner in order to be registered:
(1) the business name, street address, and mailing address of the establishment;
(2) the name and mailing address of the owner or owners of the establishment and, if the
owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business entity of the owner
or owners, and the names and addresses of the officers and members of the governing body, or
comparable persons for partnerships, limited liability corporations, or other types of business
organizations of the owner or owners;
(3) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, whether through management
agreement or lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners, and the
name of the on-site manager, if any;
(4) verification that the establishment has entered into a housing with services contract, as
required in section 144D.04, with each resident or resident's representative;
(5) verification that the establishment is complying with the requirements of section 325F.72,
if applicable;
(6) the name and address of at least one natural person who shall be responsible for dealing
with the commissioner on all matters provided for in sections 144D.01 to 144D.06, and on whom
personal service of all notices and orders shall be made, and who shall be authorized to accept
service on behalf of the owner or owners and the managing agent, if any; and
(7) the signature of the authorized representative of the owner or owners or, if the owner
or owners are not natural persons, signatures of at least two authorized representatives of each
owner, one of which shall be an officer of the owner.
Personal service on the person identified under clause (6) by the owner or owners in the
registration shall be considered service on the owner or owners, and it shall not be a defense to
any action that personal service was not made on each individual or entity. The designation of one
or more individuals under this subdivision shall not affect the legal responsibility of the owner or
owners under sections 144D.01 to 144D.06.
History: 1995 c 207 art 9 s 31; 1997 c 113 s 11; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 1 s 41; 2002 c 379 art 1 s
113; 2006 c 282 art 19 s 7,8; 2007 c 147 art 10 s 11
NOTE: Subdivision 1a, as added by Laws 2006, chapter 282, article 19, section 7, is
effective for annual registrations submitted on or after July 1, 2007. Laws 2006, chapter 282,
article 19, section 7, the effective date.
144D.04 HOUSING WITH SERVICES CONTRACTS.
    Subdivision 1. Contract required. No housing with services establishment may operate
in this state unless a written housing with services contract, as defined in subdivision 2, is
executed between the establishment and each resident or resident's representative and unless the
establishment operates in accordance with the terms of the contract. The resident or the resident's
representative shall be given a complete copy of the contract and all supporting documents and
attachments and any changes whenever changes are made.
    Subd. 2. Contents of contract. A housing with services contract, which need not be entitled
as such to comply with this section, shall include at least the following elements in itself or
through supporting documents or attachments:
(1) the name, street address, and mailing address of the establishment;
(2) the name and mailing address of the owner or owners of the establishment and, if the
owner or owners is not a natural person, identification of the type of business entity of the owner
or owners;
(3) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement or
lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners;
(4) the name and address of at least one natural person who is authorized to accept service of
process on behalf of the owner or owners and managing agent;
(5) a statement describing the registration and licensure status of the establishment and
any provider providing health-related or supportive services under an arrangement with the
establishment;
(6) the term of the contract;
(7) a description of the services to be provided to the resident in the base rate to be paid
by resident;
(8) a description of any additional services, including home care services, available for an
additional fee from the establishment directly or through arrangements with the establishment,
and a schedule of fees charged for these services;
(9) a description of the process through which the contract may be modified, amended,
or terminated;
(10) a description of the establishment's complaint resolution process available to residents
including the toll-free complaint line for the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care;
(11) the resident's designated representative, if any;
(12) the establishment's referral procedures if the contract is terminated;
(13) requirements of residency used by the establishment to determine who may reside or
continue to reside in the housing with services establishment;
(14) billing and payment procedures and requirements;
(15) a statement regarding the ability of residents to receive services from service providers
with whom the establishment does not have an arrangement;
(16) a statement regarding the availability of public funds for payment for residence or
services in the establishment; and
(17) a statement regarding the availability of and contact information for long-term care
consultation services under section 256B.0911 in the county in which the establishment is located.
    Subd. 3. Contracts in permanent files. Housing with services contracts and related
documents executed by each resident or resident's representative shall be maintained by the
establishment in files from the date of execution until three years after the contract is terminated.
The contracts and the written disclosures required under section 325F.72, if applicable, shall be
made available for on-site inspection by the commissioner upon request at any time.
History: 1995 c 207 art 9 s 32; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 1 s 42,43; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 2006 c
282 art 19 s 9; 2007 c 147 art 7 s 75
144D.045 INFORMATION CONCERNING ARRANGED HOME CARE PROVIDERS.
If a housing with services establishment has one or more arranged home care providers,
the establishment shall arrange to have that arranged home care provider deliver the following
information in writing to a prospective resident, prior to the date on which the prospective
resident executes a contract with the establishment or the prospective resident's move-in date,
whichever is earlier:
(1) the name, mailing address, and telephone number of the arranged home care provider;
(2) the name and mailing address of at least one natural person who is authorized to accept
service of process on behalf of the entity described in clause (1);
(3) a description of the process through which a home care service agreement or service plan
between a resident and the arranged home care provider, if any, may be modified, amended,
or terminated;
(4) the arranged home care provider's billing and payment procedures and requirements; and
(5) any limits to the services available from the arranged provider.
History: 2006 c 282 art 19 s 10
144D.05 AUTHORITY OF COMMISSIONER.
The commissioner shall, upon receipt of information which may indicate the failure of the
housing with services establishment, a resident, a resident's representative, or a service provider to
comply with a legal requirement to which one or more of them may be subject, make appropriate
referrals to other governmental agencies and entities having jurisdiction over the subject matter.
The commissioner may also make referrals to any public or private agency the commissioner
considers available for appropriate assistance to those involved.
The commissioner shall have standing to bring an action for injunctive relief in the district
court in the district in which an establishment is located to compel the housing with services
establishment to meet the requirements of this chapter or other requirements of the state or of any
county or local governmental unit to which the establishment is otherwise subject. Proceedings
for securing an injunction may be brought by the commissioner through the attorney general
or through the appropriate county attorney. The sanctions in this section do not restrict the
availability of other sanctions.
History: 1995 c 207 art 9 s 33; 2006 c 282 art 19 s 11
144D.06 OTHER LAWS.
A housing with services establishment shall obtain and maintain all other licenses, permits,
registrations, or other governmental approvals required of it in addition to registration under this
chapter. A housing with services establishment is subject to the provisions of section 325F.72 and
chapter 504B.
History: 1995 c 207 art 9 s 34; 1996 c 305 art 1 s 36; 1997 c 113 s 13; 1999 c 199 art 2 s 5;
1Sp2001 c 9 art 1 s 44; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113
144D.065 TRAINING IN DEMENTIA CARE REQUIRED.
(a) If a housing with services establishment registered under this chapter markets or
otherwise promotes services for persons with Alzheimer's disease or related disorders, whether
in a segregated or general unit, the establishment's direct care staff and their supervisors must
be trained in dementia care.
(b) Areas of required training include:
(1) an explanation of Alzheimer's disease and related disorders;
(2) assistance with activities of daily living;
(3) problem solving with challenging behaviors; and
(4) communication skills.
(c) The establishment shall provide to consumers in written or electronic form a description
of the training program, the categories of employees trained, the frequency of training, and the
basic topics covered. This information satisfies the disclosure requirements of section 325F.72,
subdivision 2
, clause (4).
History: 2003 c 37 s 3; 2006 c 282 art 19 s 12
144D.07 RESTRAINTS.
Residents must be free from any physical or chemical restraints imposed for purposes of
discipline or convenience.
History: 1997 c 113 s 12