Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Ownership. The state is the owner of wild rice and other aquatic vegetation
growing in public waters. A person may not acquire a property interest in wild rice or other
aquatic vegetation or destroy wild rice or aquatic vegetation, except as authorized under this
chapter or section 103G.615.
    Subd. 2. License required; exception. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a person may
not harvest, buy, sell, transport, or possess aquatic plants without a license required under this
chapter. A license shall be issued in the same manner as provided under the game and fish laws.
(b) A resident under the age of 18 years may harvest wild rice without a license, if
accompanied by a person with a wild rice license.
    Subd. 3. License fees. (a) The fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents
only, are:
(1) for harvesting wild rice:
(i) for a season, $25; and
(ii) for one day, $15;
(2) for buying and selling wild ginseng, $5;
(3) for a wild rice dealer's license to buy and sell 50,000 pounds or less, $70; and
(4) for a wild rice dealer's license to buy and sell more than 50,000 pounds, $250.
(b) The fee for a nonresident one-day license to harvest wild rice is $30.
(c) The weight of the wild rice shall be determined in its raw state.
History: 1986 c 386 art 4 s 10; 1987 c 404 s 96; 1991 c 200 s 1; 2003 c 128 art 1 s 15,16;
2004 c 255 s 5

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes