Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

84.091 Aquatic vegetation in public waters.

Subdivision 1. Ownership. The state is the owner of wild rice and other aquatic vegetation growing in public waters. A person may not acquire a property interest in wild rice or other aquatic vegetation or destroy wild rice or aquatic vegetation, except as authorized under this chapter.

Subd. 2. License required; exception. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a person may not harvest, buy, sell, transport, or possess aquatic plants without a license required under this chapter. A license shall be issued in the same manner as provided under the game and fish laws.

(b) A resident under the age of 18 years may harvest wild rice without a license, if accompanied by a person with a wild rice license.

Subd. 3. License fees. (a) The fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents only, are:

(1) for harvesting wild rice:

(i) for a season, $25; and

(ii) for one day, $15;

(2) for buying and selling wild ginseng, $5;

(3) for a wild rice dealer's license to buy and sell 50,000 pounds or less, $70; and

(4) for a wild rice dealer's license to buy and sell more than 50,000 pounds, $250.

(b) The fee for a nonresident one-day license to harvest wild rice is $30.

(c) The weight of the wild rice shall be determined in its raw state.

HIST: 1986 c 386 art 4 s 10; 1987 c 404 s 96; 1991 c 200 s 1; 2003 c 128 art 1 s 15,16

* NOTE: The amendments to subdivisions 2 and 3 by Laws 2003, *chapter 128, article 1, sections 15 and 16, are effective March *1, 2004. Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, sections 15 and 16, *the effective dates.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes