Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Possession of alcohol on school grounds; penalty. Except as otherwise
provided in subdivision 1a, any person who introduces or possesses an alcoholic beverage, as
defined in section 340A.101, on any public elementary or secondary school ground or in any
public elementary or secondary school building is guilty of a misdemeanor.
    Subd. 1a. Exceptions. Subdivision 1 does not apply to the following:
(1) experiments in laboratories;
(2) a person who has been issued a temporary license to sell 3.2 percent malt liquor under
section 340A.403, subdivision 2, or intoxicating liquor under section 340A.404, subdivision 10; or
(3) a person possessing 3.2 percent malt liquor or intoxicating liquor as a result of a purchase
from a person or organization holding a temporary license under section 340A.403, subdivision 2,
or 340A.404, subdivision 10.
    Subd. 2. Possession of alcohol on state hospital grounds; penalty. Any person who
except by prescription of a licensed physician or permission of the hospital administrator shall
introduce upon, or have in possession upon, or in, any state hospital or grounds thereof under the
responsibility of the commissioner of human services any alcoholic beverage as defined in section
340A.101, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
History: (10149) 1913 c 415 s 1; 1973 c 425 s 1; 1974 c 150 s 2; 1984 c 654 art 5 s 58;
1985 c 305 art 12 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 290 art 7 s 11; 1991 c 14 s 1,2; 1991 c 249 s 31

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes