Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Procedure. (a) To bring an eviction action, the person complaining shall file a
complaint with the court, stating the full name and date of birth of the person against whom the
complaint is made, unless it is not known, describing the premises of which possession is claimed,
stating the facts which authorize the recovery of possession, and asking for recovery thereof.
(b) The lack of the full name and date of birth of the person against whom the complaint is
made does not deprive the court of jurisdiction or make the complaint invalid.
(c) The court shall issue a summons, commanding the person against whom the complaint is
made to appear before the court on a day and at a place stated in the summons.
(d) The appearance shall be not less than seven nor more than 14 days from the day of
issuing the summons, except as provided by paragraph (b).
(e) A copy of the complaint shall be attached to the summons, which shall state that the copy
is attached and that the original has been filed.
    Subd. 2. Expedited procedure. (a) In an eviction action brought under section 504B.171
or on the basis that the tenant is causing a nuisance or other illegal behavior that seriously
endangers the safety of other residents, their property, or the landlord's property, the person filing
the complaint shall file an affidavit stating specific facts and instances in support of why an
expedited hearing is required.
(b) The complaint and affidavit shall be reviewed by a referee or judge and scheduled for an
expedited hearing only if sufficient supporting facts are stated and they meet the requirements of
this paragraph.
(c) The appearance in an expedited hearing shall be not less than five days nor more than
seven days from the date the summons is issued. The summons, in an expedited hearing, shall
be served upon the tenant within 24 hours of issuance unless the court orders otherwise for
good cause shown.
(d) If the court determines that the person seeking an expedited hearing did so without
sufficient basis under the requirements of this subdivision, the court shall impose a civil penalty
of up to $500 for abuse of the expedited hearing process.
History: 1999 c 199 art 1 s 44

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes