299A.45 EDUCATION BENEFIT.
Subdivision 1. Eligibility.
Following certification under section
with this section and rules of the commissioner of public safety and the Minnesota Office of
Higher Education, dependent children less than 23 years of age and the surviving spouse of
a public safety officer killed in the line of duty on or after January 1, 1973, are eligible to
receive educational benefits under this section. To qualify for an award, they must be enrolled
in undergraduate degree or certificate programs after June 30, 1990, at an eligible Minnesota
institution as provided in section
136A.101, subdivision 4
. A student who withdraws from
enrollment for active military service is entitled to an additional semester or the equivalent of
grant eligibility. Persons who have received a baccalaureate degree or have been enrolled full time
or the equivalent of ten semesters or the equivalent, whichever occurs first, are no longer eligible.
Subd. 2. Award amount.
(a) The amount of the award is the lesser of:
(1) the average tuition and fees charged by the institution; or
(2) the tuition maximums established by law for the state grant program under section
(b) An award under this subdivision must not affect a recipient's eligibility for a state grant
(c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "fees" include only those fees that are mandatory
and charged to all students attending the institution.
Subd. 3. Payment.
On proof of eligibility for this program, an eligible institution, on behalf
of the student, shall request payment of the award from the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.
An institution must not request payment unless the student is enrolled in or has completed the
term for which the payment is intended.
Subd. 4. Renewal.
Each award must be given for one academic year and is renewable for a
maximum of eight semesters or the equivalent. A student who withdraws from enrollment for
active military service is entitled to an additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility.
An award must not be given to a dependent child who is 23 years of age or older on the first
day of the academic year.
History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 5; 1991 c 356 art 8 s 22; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 1Sp2001 c 1 art
2 s 20,21; 2003 c 133 art 3 s 26; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 53,54,60
NOTE: The additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility under subdivisions 1
and 4, as amended by Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, sections 53 and 54 respectively, applies
to any student who withdrew from enrollment in a postsecondary institution after December 31,
2002, because the student was ordered to active military service as defined in section
or 5c. Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, section 59.