Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Issuance and design. The commissioner shall issue special license plates
bearing the inscription "DISABLED AMERICAN VETERAN" to an applicant who is certified in
writing by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans
affairs as having a permanent and total service-connected disability, who complies with all laws
relating to the registration and licensing of motor vehicles and drivers, and who pays a fee of $10
for each set of license plates applied for. The special license plates must be of a design and size
determined by the commissioner.
    Subd. 2. Application. Application for issuance of these plates may be made only at the time
of renewal or first application for registration.
    Subd. 3. Transfer. On payment of a fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be
transferred to another personal motor vehicle owned or jointly owned by the disabled veteran
upon notification to the commissioner.
    Subd. 4. Surcharge. For each set of special plates issued under this section, the commissioner
shall collect a surcharge of $5 on each $10 fee collected under subdivision 1.
    Subd. 5. Motor vehicle; special definition. For purposes of this section, "motor vehicle"
means a vehicle for personal use, not used for commercial purposes, and may include a passenger
automobile, van, pickup truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle.
    Subd. 6. Fees credited. Fees, including surcharges, collected under this section must be
credited to the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund.
History: 1Sp2005 c 6 art 3 s 33

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes