Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

168.1251 Disabled American veteran plates.

Subdivision 1. Issuance and design. The commissioner shall issue special license plates bearing the inscription "DISABLED AMERICAN VETERAN" to an applicant who is certified in writing by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans affairs as having a permanent and total service-connected disability, who complies with all laws relating to the registration and licensing of motor vehicles and drivers, and who pays a fee of $10 for each set of license plates applied for. The special license plates must be of a design and size determined by the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Application. Application for issuance of these plates may be made only at the time of renewal or first application for registration.

Subd. 3. Transfer. On payment of a fee of $5, special plates issued under this section may be transferred to another personal motor vehicle owned or jointly owned by the disabled veteran upon notification to the commissioner.

Subd. 4. Surcharge. For each set of special plates issued under this section, the commissioner shall collect a surcharge of $5 on each $10 fee collected under subdivision 1.

Subd. 5. Motor vehicle; special definition. For purposes of this section, "motor vehicle" means a vehicle for personal use, not used for commercial purposes, and may include a passenger automobile, van, pickup truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle.

Subd. 6. Fees credited. Fees, including surcharges, collected under this section must be credited to the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund.

HIST: 1Sp2005 c 6 art 3 s 33

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes