Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

103I.535 Elevator shaft contractor's license.

Subdivision 1. Application. (a) An individual must file an application and application fee with the commissioner to apply for an elevator shaft contractor's license.

(b) The application must state the applicant's qualifications for the license, the equipment the applicant will use in the contracting, and other information required by the commissioner. The application must be on forms prescribed by the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Application fee. The application fee for an elevator shaft contractor's license is $75. The commissioner may not act on an application until the application fee is paid.

Subd. 3. Examination. After the commissioner has approved the application, the applicant must take an examination given by the commissioner.

Subd. 4. Issuance of license. If an applicant passes the examination as determined by the commissioner, submits the bond under subdivision 5, and pays the license fee under subdivision 6, the commissioner shall issue an elevator shaft contractor's license to the applicant.

Subd. 5. Bond. (a) As a condition of being issued an elevator shaft contractor's license, the applicant must submit a corporate surety bond for $10,000 approved by the commissioner. The bond must be conditioned to pay the state on unlawful performance of work regulated by this chapter in this state.

(b) From proceeds of the bond, the commissioner may compensate persons injured or suffering financial loss because of a failure of the applicant to properly perform work or duties.

Subd. 6. License fee. The fee for an elevator shaft contractor's license is $75.

Subd. 7. Validity. An elevator shaft contractor's license is valid until the date prescribed in the license by the commissioner.

Subd. 8. Renewal. (a) A person must file an application and a renewal application fee to renew the license by the date stated in the license.

(b) The renewal application fee for an elevator shaft contractor's license is $75.

(c) The renewal application must include information that the applicant has met continuing education requirements established by the commissioner by rule.

(d) At the time of renewal, the commissioner must have on file all reports and permits for elevator shaft work conducted by the licensee since the last license renewal.

Subd. 9. Incomplete or late renewal. If a licensee fails to submit all information required for renewal in subdivision 8 or submits the application and information after the required renewal date:

(1) the licensee must include a late fee of $75; and

(2) the licensee may not conduct activities authorized by the elevator shaft contractor's license until the renewal application, renewal application fee, and late fee, and all other information required in subdivision 8 are submitted.

HIST: 1989 c 326 art 3 s 33; 1991 c 355 s 38,39; 1996 c 305 art 3 s 16; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 25; 1999 c 250 art 3 s 12; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 1 s 16-19; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes