Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

168C.11 Deputy registrars of bicycles.

Subdivision 1. Appointment; service fee. (a) Subject to subdivision 2, the commissioner shall appoint as deputy registrars of bicycles any bicycle dealer, or agent or employee of the dealer, or agent or employee of a nonprofit organization promoting bicycling or in whose activities bicycling plays an integral part, or an agent or employee designated by a municipality that sells bicycles at public auction who applies for appointment in a manner prescribed by the commissioner; provided that concurrently there may be no more than one deputy for each separate place of business of a bicycle dealer. Deputy registrars of bicycles shall act as agents of the commissioner and may accept registrations as provided in this chapter.

(b) The commissioner, deputy registrars of motor vehicles, and deputy registrars of bicycles may charge and retain an additional $1 per registration granted for their services. In the case of a deputy registrar of motor vehicles, the $1 must be deposited in the treasury of the place for which the deputy registrar is appointed, or if not a public official the deputy registrar shall retain the filing fee. Other registration fees collected by the commissioner, deputy registrars of motor vehicles, and deputy registrars of bicycles must be processed, accounted for, and transmitted to the state treasurer as required by the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Denial, suspension, or revocation of appointment. The commissioner, without prior notice or hearing, may issue an order denying, suspending, or revoking any appointment made or applied for pursuant to this section upon finding that the applicant or deputy registrar of bicycles has violated or failed to comply with any provision of this chapter or any rule adopted under the authority of this chapter. Upon the entry of such an order, the commissioner shall promptly serve a copy of the order on the applicant or deputy registrar of bicycles. The order must state the reasons for its issuance and, in the case of a suspension or revocation of appointment, must specify that upon the written request of the deputy registrar of bicycles the matter will be set for hearing within 15 days after the receipt of the request; provided, that with the consent of the deputy registrar of bicycles a hearing may be held subsequent to the expiration of the 15-day period. If no hearing is requested, the order remains in effect until it is modified or vacated by the commissioner. If a hearing is requested, the commissioner, after notice and hearing in accordance with chapter 14, shall affirm, modify, or vacate the order.

HIST: 1976 c 199 s 11; 1977 c 41 s 4,5; 1981 c 363 s 25; 1982 c 424 s 130; 1984 c 572 s 2; 1986 c 444; 2002 c 371 art 1 s 39

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes