Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

270.075 Tax levy.

Subdivision 1. Rate of tax. The commissioner shall determine the rate of tax to be levied and collected against the net tax capacity as determined pursuant to section 270.074, subdivision 2, to generate revenues sufficient to fund the airflight property tax portion of each year's state airport fund appropriation, as certified to the commissioner by the commissioner of transportation. The property tax portion of the state airport fund appropriation is the difference between the total fund appropriation and the estimated total fund revenues from other sources for the state fiscal year in which the tax is payable. If a levy amount has not been certified by September 1 of a levy year, the commissioner shall use the last previous certified amount to determine the rate of tax.

Subd. 2. Notice of taxes; payment. As soon as practicable and not later than December 1 next following the levy of the tax, the commissioner shall give actual notice to the airline company of the net tax capacity and of the tax. The taxes imposed under sections 270.071 to 270.079 shall become due and payable on January 1 following the levy thereof. If any tax is not paid on the due date or, if an appeal is made pursuant to section 270.076, within 60 days after notice of an increased tax, a late payment penalty of five percent of the unpaid tax shall be assessed. If the tax remains unpaid for more than 30 days, an additional penalty of five percent of the unpaid tax is imposed for each additional 30 days or fraction of 30 days that the tax remains unpaid. The penalty imposed under this section must not exceed the lesser of $25,000 or 25 percent of the unpaid tax. The unpaid tax and penalty shall bear interest at the rate specified in section 270.75 from the time such tax should have been paid until paid. All interest and penalties shall be added to the tax and collected as a part thereof.

Subd. 3. Repealed, 2000 c 490 art 5 s 40

Subd. 4. Repealed, 2000 c 490 art 5 s 40

HIST: 1945 c 418 s 6; Ex1971 c 31 art 10 s 1; 1975 c 377 s 3; 1976 c 2 s 92; 1978 c 767 s 4; 1987 c 268 art 14 s 10; 1987 c 384 art 3 s 9; 1988 c 719 art 5 s 84; art 6 s 1; 1989 c 277 art 2 s 11; 1989 c 329 art 13 s 20; 1992 c 511 art 4 s 2

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes