Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

256J.42 60-month time limit.

Subdivision 1. Time limit. (a) Except for the exemptions in this section, an assistance unit in which any adult caregiver has received 60 months of cash assistance funded in whole or in part by the TANF block grant in this or any other state or United States territory, or from a tribal TANF program, MFIP, the AFDC program formerly codified in sections 256.72 to 256.87, or the family general assistance program formerly codified in sections 256D.01 to 256D.23, funded in whole or in part by state appropriations, is ineligible to receive MFIP. Any cash assistance funded with TANF dollars in this or any other state or United States territory, or from a tribal TANF program, or MFIP assistance funded in whole or in part by state appropriations, that was received by the unit on or after the date TANF was implemented, including any assistance received in states or United States territories of prior residence, counts toward the 60-month limitation. The 60-month limit applies to a minor who is the head of a household or who is married to the head of a household except under subdivision 5. The 60-month time period does not need to be consecutive months for this provision to apply.

(b) The months before July 1998 in which individuals received assistance as part of the field trials as an MFIP, MFIP-R, or MFIP or MFIP-R comparison group family are not included in the 60-month time limit.

Subd. 2. Repealed by amendment, 1998 c 407 art 6 s 79

Subd. 3. Adults living on an Indian reservation. In determining the number of months for which an adult has received assistance under MFIP-S, the county agency must disregard any month during which the adult lived on an Indian reservation if during the month at least 50 percent of the adults living on the reservation were not employed.

Subd. 4. Victims of domestic violence. Any cash assistance received by an assistance unit in a month when a caregiver is complying with a safety plan under the MFIP-S employment and training component does not count toward the 60-month limitation on assistance.

Subd. 5. Exemption for certain families. (a) Any cash assistance received by an assistance unit does not count toward the 60-month limit on assistance during a month in which the caregiver is in the category in section 256J.56, paragraph (a), clause (1).

(b) From July 1, 1997, until the date MFIP is operative in the caregiver's county of financial responsibility, any cash assistance received by a caregiver who is complying with Minnesota Statutes 1996, section 256.73, subdivision 5a, and Minnesota Statutes 1998, section 256.736, if applicable, does not count toward the 60-month limit on assistance. Thereafter, any cash assistance received by a minor caregiver who is complying with the requirements of sections 256J.14 and 256J.54, if applicable, does not count towards the 60-month limit on assistance.

(c) Any diversionary assistance or emergency assistance received does not count toward the 60-month limit.

(d) Any cash assistance received by an 18- or 19-year-old caregiver who is complying with the requirements of section 256J.54 does not count toward the 60-month limit.

HIST: 1997 c 85 art 1 s 32; 1997 c 203 art 12 s 12; 1998 c 407 art 6 s 79; 1999 c 159 s 86,87; 1999 c 245 art 6 s 50,51

* NOTE: Subdivision 1, paragraph (b), was also amended by *Laws 1999, chapter 159, section 86, to read as follows:

* "(b) Months before July 1998 in which individuals receive *assistance as part of an MFIP, MFIP-R, or MFIP or MFIP-R *comparison group family formerly codified in sections 256.031 to *256.0361 or sections 256.047 to 256.048 are not included in the *60-month time limit."