60A.15 Taxation of insurance companies.
Subdivision 1. Domestic and foreign companies. (a) On or before April 1, June 1, and December 1 of each year, every domestic and foreign company, including town and farmers' mutual insurance companies, domestic mutual insurance companies, marine insurance companies, health maintenance organizations, community integrated service networks, and nonprofit health service plan corporations, shall pay to the commissioner of revenue installments equal to one-third of the insurer's total estimated tax for the current year. Except as provided in paragraphs (d), (e), (h), and (i), installments must be based on a sum equal to two percent of the premiums described in paragraph (b).
(b) Installments under paragraph (a), (d), or (e) are percentages of gross premiums less return premiums on all direct business received by the insurer in this state, or by its agents for it, in cash or otherwise, during such year.
(c) Failure of a company to make payments of at least one-third of either (1) the total tax paid during the previous calendar year or (2) 80 percent of the actual tax for the current calendar year shall subject the company to the penalty and interest provided in this section, unless the total tax for the current tax year is $500 or less.
(d) For health maintenance organizations, nonprofit health service plan corporations, and community integrated service networks, the installments must be based on an amount determined under paragraph (h) or (i).
(e) For purposes of computing installments for town and farmers' mutual insurance companies and for mutual property casualty companies with total assets on December 31, 1989, of $1,600,000,000 or less, the following rates apply:
(1) for all life insurance, two percent;
(2) for town and farmers' mutual insurance companies and for mutual property and casualty companies with total assets of $5,000,000 or less, on all other coverages, one percent; and
(3) for mutual property and casualty companies with total assets on December 31, 1989, of $1,600,000,000 or less, on all other coverages, 1.26 percent.
(f) If the aggregate amount of premium tax payments under this section and the fire marshal tax payments under section 299F.21 made during a calendar year is equal to or exceeds $120,000, all tax payments in the subsequent calendar year must be paid by means of a funds transfer as defined in section 336.4A-104, paragraph (a). The funds transfer payment date, as defined in section 336.4A-401, must be on or before the date the payment is due. If the date the payment is due is not a funds transfer business day, as defined in section 336.4A-105, paragraph (a), clause (4), the payment date must be on or before the funds transfer business day next following the date the payment is due.
(g) Premiums under medical assistance, general assistance medical care, the MinnesotaCare program, and the Minnesota comprehensive health insurance plan and all payments, revenues, and reimbursements received from the federal government for Medicare-related coverage as defined in section 62A.31, subdivision 3, paragraph (e), are not subject to tax under this section.
(h) For calendar years 1997, 1998, and 1999, the installments for health maintenance organizations, community integrated service networks, and nonprofit health service plan corporations must be based on an amount equal to one percent of premiums described under paragraph (b). Health maintenance organizations, community integrated service networks, and nonprofit health service plan corporations that have met the cost containment goals established under section 62J.04 in the individual and small employer market for calendar year 1996 are exempt from payment of the tax imposed under this section for premiums paid after March 30, 1997, and before April 1, 1998. Health maintenance organizations, community integrated service networks, and nonprofit health service plan corporations that have met the cost containment goals established under section 62J.04 in the individual and small employer market for calendar year 1997 are exempt from payment of the tax imposed under this section for premiums paid after March 30, 1998, and before April 1, 1999. Health maintenance organizations, community integrated service networks, and nonprofit health service plan corporations that have met the cost containment goals established under section 62J.04 in the individual and small employer market for calendar year 1998 are exempt from payment of the tax imposed under this section for premiums paid after March 30, 1999, and before January 1, 2000.
(i) For calendar years after 1999, the commissioner of finance shall determine the balance of the health care access fund on September 1 of each year beginning September 1, 1999. If the commissioner determines that there is no structural deficit for the next fiscal year, no tax shall be imposed under paragraph (d) for the following calendar year. If the commissioner determines that there will be a structural deficit in the fund for the following fiscal year, then the commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of revenue, shall determine the amount needed to eliminate the structural deficit and a tax shall be imposed under paragraph (d) for the following calendar year. The commissioner shall determine the rate of the tax as either one-quarter of one percent, one-half of one percent, three-quarters of one percent, or one percent of premiums described in paragraph (b), whichever is the lowest of those rates that the commissioner determines will produce sufficient revenue to eliminate the projected structural deficit. The commissioner of finance shall publish in the State Register by October 1 of each year the amount of tax to be imposed for the following calendar year. In determining the structural balance of the health care access fund for fiscal years 2000 and 2001, the commissioner shall disregard the transfer amount from the health care access fund to the general fund for expenditures associated with the services provided to pregnant women and children under the age of two enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program.
(j) In approving the premium rates as required in sections 62L.08, subdivision 8, and 62A.65, subdivision 3, the commissioners of health and commerce shall ensure that any exemption from the tax as described in paragraphs (h) and (i) is reflected in the premium rate.
Subd. 1a. Addition to the tax. In case of any underpayment of installments by an insurer, there shall be added to the tax for the taxable year an amount determined at the rate specified in section 270.75 upon the amount of underpayment.
Subd. 1b. Amount of underpayment. For purposes of subdivision 1a, the amount of the underpayment shall be the excess of: (1) the amount of the installment; over (2) the amount, if any, of the installment paid on or before the last date prescribed for payment.
Subd. 1c. Period of underpayment. The period of the underpayment shall run from the date the installment was required to be paid to whichever of the following dates is the earlier:
(1) on March 1 following the close of the taxable year;
(2) with respect to any portion of the underpayment, the date on which that portion is paid. For purposes of this clause, a payment of estimated tax on any installment date shall be considered a payment of any previous underpayment only to the extent the payment exceeds the amount of the installment determined under subdivision 1c, clause (1) for the installment date.
Subd. 1d. Definition of tax. The term "tax" means the tax imposed by this chapter.
Subd. 1e. Failure to file an estimate. In the case of an insurer which fails to file an estimated tax for a taxable year when one is required, the period of the underpayment shall run from the installment dates as set forth in subdivision 1 or 2 to whichever of the periods set forth in subdivision 1c is the earlier.
Subd. 2. Repealed, 1987 c 268 art 2 s 38
Subd. 2a. Procedure for filing and adjustment of statements and taxes. (a) Every insurer required to pay a premium tax in this state shall make and file a statement of estimated premium taxes for the period covered by the installment tax payment. Such statement shall be in the form prescribed by the commissioner of revenue.
(b) On or before March 1, annually every insurer subject to taxation under this section shall make an annual return for the preceding calendar year setting forth such information as the commissioner of revenue may reasonably require on forms prescribed by the commissioner of revenue.
(c) On March 1, the insurer shall pay any additional amount due for the preceding calendar year; if there has been an overpayment, such overpayment may be credited without interest on the estimated tax due April 1.
(d) If unpaid by this date, penalties as provided in section 289A.60, subdivision 1, as it relates to withholding and sales or use taxes, shall be imposed.
Subd. 3. Repealed, 1969 c 1001 s 11
Subd. 4. Return premiums defined. "Return premiums," as used in this section, means any dividend or any unused or unabsorbed portion of premium deposit or assessment that shall be applied toward the payment of any premium, premium deposit, or assessment due from the policyholder or member upon a continuance or renewal of the insurance on account of which such dividend was earned or premium deposit or assessment paid and any portion of premium returned by the company upon cancellation or termination of a policy or membership, except surrender values paid upon the cancellation and surrender of policies or certificates of life insurance.
Subd. 5. Municipality defined. As used in this section "municipality" means a city of any class, a town, or a township.
Subd. 6. Repealed, 1992 c 511 art 6 s 20
Subd. 7. Repealed, 1995 c 264 art 17 s 10
Subd. 8. Examination of returns; assessments; refunds. The commissioner of revenue shall, as soon as practicable after a return required by this section is filed, examine the same and make any investigation or examination of the company's records and accounts that the commissioner of revenue may deem necessary for determining the correctness of the return. The tax computed by the commissioner of revenue on the basis of such examination and investigation shall be the tax to be paid by such company. If the tax found due shall be greater than the amount reported as due on the company's return, the commissioner of revenue shall assess a tax in the amount of such excess and the whole amount of such excess shall be paid to the commissioner of revenue within 60 days after notice of the amount and demand for its payment shall have been mailed to the company by the commissioner of revenue. If the understatement of the tax on the return was false and fraudulent with intent to evade the tax, the installments of the tax shown by the company on its return which have not yet been paid shall be paid to the state treasurer within 30 days after notice of the amount thereof and demand for payment shall have been mailed to the company by the commissioner of revenue. If the amount of the tax found due by the commissioner of revenue shall be less than that reported as due on the company's return, the excess shall be refunded to the company in the manner provided by subdivision 12, (except that no demand therefor shall be necessary), if they have already paid the whole of such tax, or credited against any unpaid installment thereof; provided, that no refundment shall be made except as provided in subdivision 12, after the expiration of 3-1/2 years after the filing of the return.
If the commissioner of revenue examines returns of a company for more than one year, the commissioner of revenue may issue one order covering the several years under consideration reflecting the aggregate refund or additional tax due.
The notices and demands provided for by subdivisions 8 to 10, shall be in such form as the commissioner of revenue may determine (including a statement) and shall contain a brief explanation of the computation of the tax and shall be sent by mail to the company at the address given in its return, if any, and if no such address is given, then to the last known address.
Subd. 9. Failure to file return, false or fraudulent return filed. If any company required by this section to file any return shall fail to do so within the time prescribed or shall make, willfully or otherwise, an incorrect, false, or fraudulent return, it shall, on the written demand of the commissioner of revenue, file such return, or corrected return, within 60 days after the mailing of such written demand and at the same time pay the whole tax, or additional tax, due on the basis thereof. If such company shall fail within that time to file such return, or corrected return, the commissioner of revenue shall make for it a return, or corrected return, from personal knowledge and from such information as the commissioner of revenue can obtain through testimony, or otherwise, and assess a tax on the basis thereof, which tax (less any payments theretofore made on account of the tax for the taxable year covered by such return) shall be paid within 60 days after the commissioner of revenue has mailed to such company a written notice of the amount thereof and demand for its payment. Any such return or assessment made by the commissioner of revenue on account of the failure of the company to make a return, or a corrected return, shall be prima facie correct and valid, and the company shall have the burden of establishing its incorrectness or invalidity in any action or proceeding in respect thereto.
Subd. 9a. Failure to file; penalties and interest. In case of any failure to make and file a return as required by this chapter within the time prescribed by law or prescribed by the commissioner of revenue in pursuance of law there shall be added to the tax penalties as provided in section 289A.60, subdivision 2, as it relates to withholding and sales or use taxes.
Subd. 9b. Intent to evade tax; penalty. If any company, with intent to evade the tax imposed by this chapter, fails to file any return required by this chapter or with such intent files a false or fraudulent return there shall also be imposed on it a penalty as provided in section 289A.60, subdivision 6.
Subd. 9c. Negligence or intentional disregard; penalty. If any part of any additional assessment is due to negligence or intentional disregard of the statute or a rule (but without intent to defraud), there shall be added to the tax a penalty as provided in section 289A.60, subdivision 5.
Subd. 9d. Criminal provisions. In addition to the penalties hereinbefore prescribed, the provisions of section 289A.63, subdivisions 1 and 3, shall apply to persons required by chapter 60A to make a return.
Subd. 9e. Penalty for repeated failures to file returns or pay taxes. If there is a pattern by a person of repeated failures to timely file returns or timely pay taxes, and written notice is given that a penalty will be imposed if such failures continue, a penalty of 25 percent of the amount of tax not timely paid as a result of each such subsequent failure is added to the tax. The penalty can be abated under the abatement authority in section 270.07, subdivisions 1, paragraph (e), and 6.
Subd. 10. Collection of tax. The tax required to be paid by this section may be collected in an ordinary action at law by the commissioner of revenue against the company. In any action commenced pursuant to this section, upon the filing of an affidavit of default, the court administrator of the district court wherein the action was commenced shall enter judgment for the state for the amount demanded in the complaint together with costs and disbursements.
Subd. 11. Appeals. Either party to an action or a judgment for the recovery of any taxes, interest, or penalties under subdivision 10, may appeal as in other civil cases.
Subd. 12. Overpayments, claims for refund. (1) Procedure, time limit, appropriation. A company who has paid, voluntarily or otherwise, or from whom there has been collected an amount of tax for any year in excess of the amount legally due for that year, may file with the commissioner of revenue a claim for a refund of the excess. Except as provided in subdivision 11, no claim or refund shall be allowed or made after the period prescribed in section 289A.40, subdivision 1. For this purpose, a return or amended return claiming an overpayment constitutes a claim for refund.
Upon the filing of a claim, the commissioner of revenue shall examine it, shall make and file written findings denying or allowing the claim in whole or in part, and shall mail a notice thereof to the company at the address stated upon the return. If the claim is allowed in whole or in part, the commissioner of revenue shall issue a certificate for the refundment of the excess paid by the company, with interest at the rate specified in section 270.76 computed from the date of the payment of the tax until the date the refund is paid or the credit is made to the company. The commissioner of finance shall pay the refund out of the proceeds of the taxes imposed by this section, as other state moneys are expended. As much of the proceeds of the taxes as necessary are appropriated for that purpose.
(2) Denial of claim, court proceedings. If the claim is denied in whole or in part, the commissioner of revenue shall mail an order of denial to the company in the manner prescribed in subdivision 8. An appeal from this order may be taken to the Minnesota tax court in the manner prescribed in section 271.06, or the company may commence an action against the commissioner of revenue to recover the denied overpayment. The action may be brought in the district court of the district in the county of its principal place of business, or in the district court for Ramsey county. The action in the district court must be commenced within 18 months following the mailing of the order of denial to the company. If a claim for refund is filed by a company and no order of denial is issued within six months of the filing, the company may commence an action in the district court as in the case of a denial, but the action must be commenced within two years of the date that the claim for refund was filed.
(3) Consent to extend time. If the commissioner of revenue and the company have, within the periods prescribed in clause (1), consented in writing to any extension of time for the assessment of the tax, the period within which a claim for refund may be filed, or a refund may be made or allowed, if no claim is filed, shall be the period within which the commissioner of revenue and the company have consented to an extension for the assessment of the tax and six months thereafter.
(4) Overpayments; refunds. If the amount determined to be an overpayment exceeds the taxes imposed by this section, the amount of excess shall be considered an overpayment. An amount paid as tax constitutes an overpayment even if in fact there was no tax liability with respect to which the amount was paid.
Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, in the case of any overpayment, the commissioner of revenue, within the applicable period of limitations, shall refund any balance of more than one dollar to the company if the company requests the refund.
Subd. 13. No liability in case of compliance with laws of other states. Each domestic insurance company, and its officers, directors, and trustees, may comply with any law of any state, territory, or political subdivision of either, which imposes any license, or tax, and pay same, unless, prior to such payment, such law is expressly held invalid by the United States Supreme Court. No such company, officer, director, or trustee shall be subject to liability by reason of any such compliance or payment either heretofore or hereafter made.
Subd. 14. Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 10 s 123
Subd. 15. Guaranty association assessment offset. An insurance company may offset against its premium tax liability to this state any amount paid pursuant to assessments made for insolvencies which occur after July 31, 1994, under sections 60C.01 to 60C.22, and any amount paid pursuant to assessments made after July 31, 1994, under Minnesota Statutes 1992, sections 61B.01 to 61B.16, or sections 61B.18 to 61B.32 as follows:
(a) Each such assessment shall give rise to an amount of offset equal to 20 percent of the amount of the assessment for each of the five calendar years following the year in which the assessment was paid.
(b) The amount of offset initially determined for each taxable year is the sum of the amounts determined under paragraph (a) for that taxable year.
(c) Each year the commissioner of revenue shall compare total guaranty association assessments levied over the preceding five calendar years to the sum of all premium tax and corporate franchise tax revenues collected from insurance companies, without reduction for any guaranty association assessment offset in the preceding calendar year, referred to in this subdivision as "preceding year insurance tax revenues." If total guaranty association assessments levied over the preceding five years exceed the preceding year insurance tax revenues, insurance companies shall be allowed only a proportionate part of the premium tax offset calculated under paragraph (b) for the current calendar year. The proportionate part of the premium tax offset allowed in the current calendar year is determined by multiplying the amount calculated under paragraph (b) by a fraction, the numerator of which equals the preceding year insurance tax revenues and the denominator of which equals total guaranty association assessments levied over the preceding five-year period. The proportionate part of the premium tax offset that is not allowed shall be carried forward to subsequent tax years and added to the amount of premium tax offset calculated under paragraph (b) prior to application of the limitation imposed by this paragraph. Any amount carried forward from prior years must be allowed before allowance of the offset for the current year calculated under paragraph (b). The premium tax offset limitation must be calculated separately for (1) insurance companies subject to assessment under sections 60C.01 to 60C.22, and (2) insurance companies subject to assessment under Minnesota Statutes 1992, sections 61B.01 to 61B.16, or sections 61B.18 to 61B.32. When the premium tax offset is limited by this provision, the commissioner of revenue shall notify affected insurance companies on a timely basis for purposes of completing premium and corporate franchise tax returns. The guaranty associations created under sections 60C.01 to 60C.22, Minnesota Statutes 1992, sections 61B.01 to 61B.16, and sections 61B.18 to 61B.32, shall provide the commissioner of revenue with the necessary information on guaranty association assessments. The limitation in this paragraph is effective for offsets allowable in 1999 and thereafter.
(d) If the offset determined by the application of paragraphs (a) to (c) exceeds the greater of the insurance company's premium tax liability under this section or its corporate franchise tax liability under chapter 290 prior to allowance of the credit for premium taxes, then the insurance company may carry forward the excess, referred to in this subdivision as the "carryforward credit," to subsequent taxable years. The carryforward credit shall be allowed as an offset against premium tax liability for the first succeeding year to the extent that the premium tax liability for that year exceeds the amount of the allowable offset for the year determined under paragraphs (a) to (c). The carryforward credit shall be reduced, but not below zero, by the greater of the amount of the carryforward credit allowed as an offset against the premium tax under this paragraph or the amount of the carryforward credit allowed as an offset against the insurance company's corporate franchise tax liability under section 290.35, subdivision 6, paragraph (d). The remainder, if any, of the carryforward credit must be carried forward to succeeding taxable years until the entire carryforward credit has been credited against the insurance company's liability for premium tax under this chapter and corporate franchise tax under chapter 290 if applicable for that taxable year.
(e) A refund paid by the Minnesota life and health insurance guaranty association to member insurers under Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 61B.07, subdivision 6, or section 61B.24, subdivision 6, with respect to an assessment payment which has been offset against taxes shall reduce the carryforward credit determined under paragraph (d). If the refund exceeds the amount of the carryforward credit, it shall be repaid by the insurers to the extent of the offset to the state in the manner the commissioner of revenue requires.
HIST: 1967 c 395 art 1 s 15; 1969 c 1001 s 1; 1971 c 575 s 1-3; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1981 c 356 s 272; 1983 c 247 s 29,30; 1984 c 558 art 1 s 1-7; 1984 c 592 s 10-26; 1Sp1985 c 14 art 15 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1Sp1986 c 1 art 7 s 1; 1Sp1986 c 3 art 1 s 82; 1987 c 268 art 2 s 1; art 17 s 41; 1988 c 719 art 2 s 1; 1Sp1989 c 1 art 10 s 3; 1990 c 480 art 1 s 46; art 6 s 1; 1990 c 604 art 2 s 1; 1992 c 511 art 6 s 1; 1992 c 549 art 9 s 2; 1993 c 375 art 10 s 1-3; 1994 c 587 art 1 s 2; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 2; 1995 c 264 art 9 s 3; art 13 s 1; 1996 c 446 art 1 s 3; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 17; 1997 c 31 art 2 s 1; 1997 c 84 art 6 s 2; 1997 c 225 art 3 s 2; 1998 c 389 art 16 s 10; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 1