Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

332.33 Licenses.

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person shall conduct within this state a collection agency or engage within this state in the business of collecting claims for others as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.45, without having first applied for and obtained a collection agency license. A person acting under the authority of a collection agency, as a collector, must first obtain a Minnesota collector license. A licensed collector may use one additional assumed name only if the assumed name is registered with and approved by the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person who carries on business as a collection agency or acts as a collector without first having obtained a license pursuant to sections 332.31 to 332.45, or who carries on this business after the revocation, suspension, or expiration of a license is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 3. Term. Licenses issued or renewed by the commissioner of commerce under sections 332.31 to 332.45 shall expire on June 30. Each license shall plainly state the name and business address of the licensee, and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the office where the business is transacted. The fee for each license is $500 and renewal as collection agency is $400. The fee for each license and renewal as collector shall be $10. A licensee who desires to carry on business in more than one place shall procure a license for each place where the business is to be conducted.

Subd. 4. Investigations. The commissioner may require financial statements and references of all applicants for a license as the commissioner considers necessary. The commissioner may make or cause to be made an independent investigation concerning the applicant's reputation, integrity, competence, and net worth, at the expense of the applicant for the initial investigation, not to exceed $500, and for that purpose may require a deposit against the cost of the investigation as the commissioner considers adequate. The investigation may cover all managerial personnel employed by or associated with the applicant.

Subd. 5. Issuance. Every application for a collection agency license or renewal shall be acted upon promptly by the commissioner but in no event more than 45 days after receipt of the application. Every application for a collector's license or renewal shall be acted upon promptly by the commissioner but in no event more than 15 days after receipt of the completed application. Each applicant may be issued a temporary license after submitting a complete application which meets all requirements for licensure. This license shall be effective until a permanent license is issued by the commissioner. If the application complies in form and substance with sections 332.31 to 332.45 and the rules adopted under those sections and the commissioner finds that the applicant is qualified under sections 332.31 to 332.45, the commissioner shall issue a license immediately. If the application is not sufficient in form or substance, the commissioner shall reject it and notify the applicant of the manner in which it is deficient. The rejection is without prejudice to the filing of a new application. On finding that the applicant is not qualified under sections 332.31 to 332.45, the commissioner shall reject the application and shall give the applicant written notice of the rejection and the reasons for the rejection.

Subd. 6. Deposit of fees. All money received by the commissioner shall be deposited in the general fund of the state treasury.

Subd. 7. Notice. A licensed collection agency or individual collector must give the commissioner written notice of a change in personal name, company name, address, or ownership not later than 15 days after the change occurs.

HIST: 1969 c 399 s 1; 1969 c 766 s 3; 1971 c 23 s 22; 1971 c 576 s 1; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 37 s 2; 1987 c 358 s 118,119; 1997 c 222 s 50,51

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes