Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

256J.12 Minnesota residence.

Subdivision 1. Simple residency. To be eligible for AFDC or MFIP-S, whichever is in effect, a family must have established residency in this state which means the family is present in the state and intends to remain here.

Subd. 1a. 30-day residency requirement. A family is considered to have established residency in this state only when a child or caregiver has resided in this state for at least 30 days with the intention of making the person's home here and not for any temporary purpose. Time spent in a shelter for battered women shall count toward satisfying the 30-day residency requirement.

Subd. 2. Exceptions. (a) A county shall waive the 30-day residency requirement where unusual hardship would result from denial of assistance.

(b) For purposes of this section, unusual hardship means a family:

(1) is without alternative shelter; or

(2) is without available resources for food.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, the following definitions apply (1) "metropolitan statistical area" is as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau; (2) "alternative shelter" includes any shelter that is located within the metropolitan statistical area containing the county and for which the family is eligible, provided the family does not have to travel more than 20 miles to reach the shelter and has access to transportation to the shelter. Clause (2) does not apply to counties in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metropolitan statistical area.

Subd. 2a. Migrant workers. Migrant workers, as defined in section 256J.08, and their immediate families are exempt from the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 1a, provided the migrant worker provides verification that the migrant family worked in this state within the last 12 months and earned at least $1,000 in gross wages during the time the migrant worker worked in this state.

Subd. 3. Payment plan for new residents. Assistance paid to an eligible family in which all members have resided in this state for fewer than 12 consecutive calendar months immediately preceding the date of application shall be at the standard and in the form specified in section 256J.43.

Subd. 4. Severability clause. If any subdivision in this section is enjoined from implementation or found unconstitutional by any court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining subdivisions shall remain valid and shall be given full effect.

HIST: 1997 c 85 art 1 s 8; 1997 c 203 art 12 s 8

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes