Explosives may be handled only by a person experienced in the use of explosives or by an employee who is at least 18 years of age and is supervised by a person experienced in the use of explosives.
While explosives are being handled or used, smoking is not permitted. A person near the explosives shall not possess matches, open light, or other fire- or flame-producing devices. A person shall not handle explosives while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotics.
Original containers or authorized containers must be used for taking detonators and other explosives from storage magazines to the blasting area.
When the blasting is done in congested areas or in close proximity to a structure, railway, highway, or other installation that may be damaged, the blast must be covered before firing with a mat that can prevent fragments from being thrown.
Persons authorized to prepare explosive charges or conduct blasting operations shall use every reasonable precaution, including warning signals, flags, barricades, or mats to ensure the safety of the general public and workers.
Blasting operations, except by special permission of the commissioner, must be conducted during daylight hours.
When blasting is being conducted in the vicinity of gas, electric, water, fire alarm, telephone, telegraph, and steam utilities, the blaster shall notify the appropriate representatives of these utilities at least 24 hours in advance of blasting, specifying the location and intended time of blasting. Verbal notice must be confirmed with written notice. In an emergency this time limit may be waived by the local authority issuing the original permit.
Due precautions must be taken to prevent accidental discharge of electric blasting caps from current induced by radar, radio transmitters, lightning, adjacent power lines, dust storms, or other sources of extraneous electricity. These precautions include:
the suspension of all blasting operations and removal of persons from the blasting area during the approach and progress of an electric storm;
the posting of signs that warn against the use of mobile radio transmitters on roads within 1,000 feet of the blasting operation; and
compliance with the Safety Guide for the Prevention of Radio Frequency Radiation Hazards in the Use of Electric Blasting Caps, publication number 20, Institute of Makers of Explosives (1981), which is incorporated by reference. This publication is not subject to frequent change and is located at the Minnesota State Law Library, 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155.
11 SR 6
July 26, 2007
Copyright © 2007 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.