The license holder is responsible for ensuring that every staff member successfully completes the orientation training specified in items A and B.
Before providing direct care or having any other direct contact with persons in treatment, a staff member must:
complete an overview of the treatment program philosophy and design;
demonstrate mastery of techniques used to manage behavioral emergencies, including preventive de-escalation techniques and physical and nonphysical intervention techniques to interrupt violent behavior;
be knowledgeable about the rights of persons in treatment under applicable laws such as Minnesota Statutes, sections 144.651 (the Patient Bill of Rights) and 626.557 (the Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable Adults Act), and about program policies ensuring these rights;
understand how the general need to establish and maintain boundaries in a therapeutic relationship applies in the specific context of working with sexual psychopathic personalities and other sex offenders; and
review the program's emergency provisions on fire, weather, missing persons, serious injury, and death.
Within the first 30 calendar days of employment, all staff members must complete introductory training in:
human sexuality and specific issues raised by the program population;
awareness of the influences of culture and the importance of cultural differences;
control of infection and infectious diseases; and
assessment and individual treatment planning.
The license holder must ensure that an individual staff development and evaluation plan is developed and implemented for all staff who provide, supervise, or administer direct services. The plan must:
be developed within 90 days of employment and be reviewed and revised at least annually;
meet the staff development needs specified in the staff member's annual employee evaluation; and
address the specific age, cultural, and mental health needs of the persons being served.
The license holder must ensure that all staff receive the amount of training specified in this subpart.
Except as provided in items B and C, all staff must receive at least 16 hours of training annually.
Staff who work more than half time and have less than 4,000 hours of experience providing services to sex offenders or to persons with behavioral disorders, developmental disabilities, mental illness, or chemical dependency must receive at least 24 hours of training annually.
Treatment staff members and consultants whose duties require them to be licensed, certified, or registered by the state of Minnesota are exempt from the requirements in items A and B as long as they meet the training requirements necessary to remain current in their licensure, certification, or registration.
The orientation required in subpart 1 may be counted toward the annual training requirement in an employee's first year of service.
The license holder must ensure that at least 75 percent of the required training hours is focused on one or more of the following areas or subjects:
use of preventive de-escalation techniques and physical and nonphysical intervention to interrupt violent behavior;
application and compliance with Minnesota Statutes and rules related to treatment and services for sex offenders;
assessment and treatment of persons with special needs related to conditions such as substance abuse, obsessive compulsive disorder, organic brain damage, impulse control disorders, or other physical needs;
prevention and control of infectious diseases, including human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection;
how to administer first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); and
review of research, practice, or regulations that affect care and treatment programs for sex offenders.
MS s 246B.04
20 SR 935
February 2, 2005