Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

9515.3060 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.

Subpart 1.

Program director.

The program director must have at least one year of work experience or training in administration or supervision, plus:

A.

at least a master's degree in the behavioral sciences or related field plus at least two years of work experience providing services to sex offenders or to persons with behavioral disorders, developmental disabilities, mental illness, or chemical dependency; or

B.

a bachelor's degree in the behavioral sciences or related field from an accredited college or university plus a minimum of four years of work experience providing services to sex offenders or to persons with behavioral disorders, developmental disabilities, mental illness, or chemical dependency.

Subp. 2.

Treatment staff and treatment support staff qualifications.

A.

Treatment staff members and consultants whose duties require them to be licensed, certified, or registered by the state of Minnesota must have a copy of their current license, certification, or registration in their personnel files.

B.

Treatment staff members who provide assessments and individual and group counseling services must be qualified in at least one of the following ways:

(1)

have a bachelor's degree in one of the behavioral sciences or related fields from an accredited college or university and at least 2,000 hours of supervised experience providing services to sex offenders or to persons with behavioral disorders, developmental disabilities, mental illness, or chemical dependency;

(2)

have at least 6,000 hours of supervised experience in providing services to sex offenders or to persons with behavioral disorders, developmental disabilities, mental illness, or chemical dependency;

(3)

be a graduate student in one of the behavioral sciences or related fields and be formally assigned by an accredited college or university to the facility for clinical training under the supervision of a qualified treatment staff member or consultant; or

(4)

hold a master's or other graduate degree from an accredited college or university in one of the behavioral sciences or related fields.

C.

A treatment staff member who provides services and programming to implement participant treatment plan objectives such as completing educational and vocational goals, identifying appropriate recreation and leisure activities, and developing social relationships with peers must, at a minimum:

(1)

have completed at least two years of post-secondary education at an accredited college or university with a minimum of 18 quarter hours or 12 semester hours in the behavioral sciences, social work, or nursing; or

(2)

have been employed at least 2,000 hours providing direct services to: sex offenders or to persons with behavioral disorders, mental illness, developmental disabilities, or chemical dependency.

D.

Treatment support staff must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or a commissioner of education-selected high school equivalency certification.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 246B.04

History:

20 SR 935; L 2017 1Sp5 art 10 s 7

Published Electronically:

August 21, 2017