Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature
Advanced Search

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

8710.6000 SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST.

Subpart 1.

Scope of practice.

A speech-language pathologist is authorized to provide specialized speech-language services to prekindergarten through grade 12 students with identified communication disabilities including those affecting language, articulation, fluency, and voice.

Subp. 1a.

Exceptions.

A.

A speech-language pathologist is not required to pass content, pedagogy, or basic skills examinations.

B.

A speech-language pathologist is not eligible to hold a Tier 1 license issued under part 8710.0311.

Subp. 1b.

Requirements for a Tier 2 license.

A Tier 2 license issued under part 8710.0312 must be issued to a speech-language pathologist if the requirements of this subpart are met.

A.

The hiring district must:

(1)

show that the position was posted for at least 15 days on the board-approved statewide job board;

(2)

show that no Tier 3 or 4 licensed speech-language pathologists applied for the position;

(3)

provide justification for why no alternative options for having a licensed speech-language pathologist are available; and

(4)

provide supervision by a licensed speech-language pathologist who holds a certificate of clinical competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, and is able to communicate with a Tier 2 licensed individual any time the individual is in direct contact with a client where the supervision includes the following:

(a)

during the first year, at least 30 percent of work includes direct, face-to-face supervision; and

(b)

during the second year, at least 20 percent of work includes direct, face-to-face supervision.

B.

The applicant must:

(1)

have a bachelor's degree in communication disorders or speech-language-hearing sciences; or

(2)

hold a speech-language pathologist assistant certificate and a bachelor's degree in any field.

C.

The hiring district must affirm the applicant will participate in an evaluation aligned to the district's teacher development and evaluation model under Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.40, subdivision 8, or 122A.41, subdivision 5, or if the statutory models are not practicable, to another identified district-aligned evaluation.

Subp. 1c.

Tier 2 license duration; renewal.

A.

A Tier 2 license issued under subpart 1b is valid for up to two years, expires on June 30 of the expiration year, and may be renewed three times. For each renewal, the hiring district must show the applicant participated in mentorship and evaluation aligned to the district's teacher development and evaluation model under Minnesota Statutes, section 122A.40, subdivision 8, or 122A.41, subdivision 5, or if the statutory models are not practicable, to another district-aligned evaluation.

B.

For the first renewal, the applicant must show:

(1)

meaningful progress, as defined by the provider, has been made toward completion of the program and a Tier 3 license. If no meaningful progress has been made, the board must deem the applicant to not meet renewal requirements unless the applicant provides justification to the board for failing to make meaningful progress; or

(2)

the applicant applied to a speech-language pathology master's degree program but was not accepted.

C.

For the second and third renewals, the applicant must show that meaningful progress, as defined by the provider, has been made toward completion of the program and a Tier 3 license. If no meaningful progress has been made, the board must deem the applicant to not meet renewal requirements unless the applicant provides justification to the board for failing to make meaningful progress.

Subp. 2.

Requirements for Tier 3 license.

A Tier 3 license issued under part 8710.0313 must be issued to a speech-language pathologist if the applicant:

A.

has completed a master's degree in speech-language pathology from a program accredited by the Council on Academic Affairs of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association;

B.

holds a valid certificate of clinical competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; or

C.

holds a speech-language pathology license granted by the Minnesota Department of Health.

Subp. 2a.

Requirements for Tier 4 license.

A Tier 4 license issued under part 8710.0314 must be issued to a speech-language pathologist if the applicant:

A.

meets all requirements for a Tier 3 license under subpart 2;

B.

has at least three years of experience as a speech-language pathologist in Minnesota schools; and

C.

was not placed or otherwise kept in an improvement process aligned to the district's teacher development and evaluation plan by the applicant's most recent summative evaluation.

Subp. 3.

[Repealed, 25 SR 805]

Subp. 4.

License renewal.

A.

A speech-language pathologist license issued under this part shall be renewed according to the rules of the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board governing professional licensure.

B.

The Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) credential from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association may be used in lieu of clock hours required under part 8710.7200, subpart 2, to renew a speech-language pathologist license issued under this part. If the CCC credential expires during the individual's renewal period, the local continuing education/relicensure committee must prorate clock hours completed at 25 hours per year and require completion of a prorated number of hours for the years the credential is not in effect.

C.

For an individual with a license issued prior to July 1, 1994, applying for renewal of continuing licensure as a speech-language pathologist who does not hold a master's degree in speech-language pathology, the applicant must earn at least 24 quarter hours or 16 semester hours of postbaccalaureate college credit in speech-language pathology or related special education instruction and services and comply with this subpart.

Subp. 5.

Specialized renewal requirements for licenses issued prior to July 1, 1994.

After June 30, 2007, a person who makes application for renewal of continuing licensure as a speech-language pathologist, but who does not hold a master's degree in speech-language pathology, must provide evidence that at least 24-quarter hours or 16-semester hours of post-baccalaureate college credit in speech-language pathology or related special education instruction and services have been earned and comply with subpart 4.

Subp. 6.

Effective date.

Requirements in this part for licensure as a speech-language pathologist are effective on September 1, 2001, and thereafter.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 122A.09; 122A.18

History:

23 SR 1928; 25 SR 805; 30 SR 504; L 2017 1Sp5 art 12 s 22; 43 SR 463

Published Electronically:

October 30, 2018