Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

7506.2600 PREASSIGNMENT OR ON-THE-JOB TRAINING REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1.

License requirement.

A person employed as a private detective or protective agent must spend a minimum of 12 hours in preassignment training within the first 21 days of employment. An individual who leaves the profession for three years or longer and returns to employment as a private detective or protective agent must repeat the preassignment training.

Subp. 2.

Exemption.

A person who submits satisfactory proof to the board of actively working full time or part time as a private detective or protective agent or who has a Minnesota license or applies for a Minnesota license before July 1, 1998, is eligible for exemption from the preassignment training requirement.

Subp. 3.

Subject areas for protective agents.

Preassignment training for protective agents must minimally include training in the following subject areas:

A.

security overview;

B.

legal authority and liability issues;

C.

communications;

D.

ethics;

E.

incident/situation assessment and emergency response; and

F.

Minnesota private detective and protective agent statutes and administrative rules.

Subp. 4.

Subject areas for private detectives.

Preassignment training for private detectives must minimally include training in the following subject areas:

A.

private detective/investigator overview;

B.

legal authority and liability issues;

C.

communication;

D.

rights of privacy, invasion of privacy, and data privacy;

E.

situational assessment;

F.

ethics; and

G.

Minnesota private detective and protective agent statutes and administrative rules.

Subp. 5.

Certificate of completion.

At the conclusion of each certified training course, the instructor shall provide each student who has successfully completed training with evidence of completion, showing the subject area covered by each course completed and the number of hours completed.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 326.3361

History:

22 SR 711

Published Electronically:

May 27, 2003