Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

6260.1700 COMMERCIAL FISHING ON LAKE OF THE WOODS.

Subpart 1.

Species, seasons, and limits.

The commercial fishing season on Lake of the Woods is January 1 through December 31.

Subp. 2.

Use of fyke nets.

Fyke nets may be used as provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.825, except that a lead may not exceed 300 feet in length. The size of the mesh in the crib may not be less than 2-1/2 inches nor more than four inches, stretch measure. The wings may not exceed 100 feet in length and the lead may not exceed 300 feet in length. The hoops may not exceed six feet in height.

Subp. 3.

Use of staked trap nets.

The crib of staked trap nets in Lake of the Woods may not exceed 22 feet on any side with the top open and breaching the water surface. The lead may not exceed 400 feet in length.

Subp. 4.

Use of pound nets.

There is no limit on the size of the crib of pound nets in Lake of the Woods. The crib must have an opening at the top breaching the water surface. The lead may not exceed 825 feet in length.

Subp. 5.

Use of submerged trap nets.

Submerged trap nets in Lake of the Woods must contain a buoy at each end of each net and each buoy must be marked with a yellow or blaze orange flag displaying not less than one square foot of surface and rising not less than three feet above the water. Attached to the staff of each buoy must be an identification tag. The minimum size of the tag must be 2-1/2 inches by five-eighths inch. Each tag must have the operator's name and license number engraved upon it.

Subp. 6.

Restrictions on gear used in Lake of the Woods.

The provisions in this subpart apply to commercial gear restrictions on Lake of the Woods:

A.

Fyke, staked trap, and pound nets have no depth limitation, but may be set only in areas specified in the license, and may be set in strings of not more than two.

B.

Commercial fishing in Lake of the Woods is prohibited within 500 feet of the mouth of any stream, within two miles of the lakeside shoreline of Pine Island, or in Four Mile Bay and Zippel Bay.

In Muskeg Bay from June 20 through October 14, no portion of a net may be in water less than 15 feet deep. Along the southern shoreline of Big Traverse Bay from June 1 through October 14, no portion of a net may be in water less than 15 feet deep. Submerged trap nets may be set in strings of not more than two. Submerged trap nets may not be placed in the Northwest Angle Inlet west of a line from a point on the international boundary midway between Buckets Island and Magnuson Island; thence southeasterly to the easterly shore of Magnuson Island; thence southerly and westerly along said shore to the line between Twp. 168 N., Rge. 34 W., Sec. 23 and Sec. 24; thence south to the shore of the mainland in Twp. 168 N., Rge. 34 W, Sec. 26.

C.

All nets must be lifted and emptied of fish at least once every 48-hour period in Lake of the Woods, unless a longer period is granted by the commissioner.

Subp. 7.

Required reporting.

Commercial operators licensed to fish Lake of the Woods must submit monthly reports on forms provided by the commissioner for each month that commercial fishing activity takes place. The reports must be sent to the address identified on the form so that they are received by the tenth day of the month following the month that the activity took place.

Subp. 8.

Apprentice license restrictions.

A person may not be issued more than one apprentice license for Lake of the Woods.

Subp. 9.

Operation under two licenses.

A person may not operate under a master and a helper commercial fishing license during the same license year on Lake of the Woods.

Subp. 10.

Death of commercial operator.

In case of the death of a licensed commercial operator licensed to fish Lake of the Woods, the operator's legal representative or successor in interest succeeds to the rights of the deceased license holder, and may continue operations under the license until its expiration.

Subp. 11.

Required stake removal.

Within ten days after removing nets, commercial operators must remove from the lake bed all net stakes used in their operations.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 97A.045; 97C.811; 97C.841

History:

18 SR 83; 23 SR 348; 32 SR 1039

Published Electronically:

June 11, 2008