Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.

Species, seasons, and limits.

Whitefish and rough fish may be taken by licensed commercial operators in Rainy Lake from June 1 through December 31 subject to the specified length limits. The minimum length for whitefish taken by commercial fishing operations is 18 inches.

Subp. 2.

Use of pound nets.

Pound net leads may not exceed 825 feet in length. Pound nets may be not set in connected strings of more than two.

Subp. 3.

Net locations.

Nets may not be set within 500 feet of the mouth of any stream nor within that portion of Rainy Lake, including Black Bay, within the boundaries of Koochiching County under the jurisdiction of this state. Under special permit, pound, trap, or fyke nets may be set at any place within any closed area of Rainy Lake which is approved by the commissioner during the period from June 15 through April 15 for the sole purpose of taking rough fish and whitefish. Nets may not be lifted except during daylight hours.

Subp. 4.

Lifting of nets.

All nets in Rainy Lake must be lifted and emptied of fish at least once in every 48-hour period, unless a longer period is granted by the commissioner.

Subp. 5.

Special provisions for commercial fishing on Rainy Lake.

The provisions in this subpart apply to commercial fishing operations on Rainy Lake:


Monthly reports must be submitted by the tenth day of the month following the month reported to Area Fisheries Headquarters.


In case of the death of a licensed commercial operator during the fishing season, the operator's legal representative or successor in interest succeeds to the rights of the deceased license holder and may continue operations under the license until its expiration.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 97A.045


18 SR 83

Published Electronically:

June 11, 2008

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes