Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subpart 1.


For any facility, except those specifically exempted under this part or part 4732.0300, the person having administrative control of any ionizing radiation-producing equipment must be responsible for completing the registration form and submitting the applicable fee according to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.121. It is the registrant's obligation to keep the information for registration current. Should a change of control result in a change to the registrant's program, the registrant must notify the commissioner of that change according to this part. Persons with administrative control of the radiation-producing equipment must be responsible for maintaining equipment in compliance with a nationally recognized standard, such as Code of Federal Regulations, title 21, section 1020.30, the manufacturer's specifications, or parts 4732.1100 to 4732.1130.

Subp. 2.

New facility.

For a new facility, an application for registration must be submitted to the commissioner and approved prior to the operation of the equipment. Application for registration must be completed on forms furnished by the commissioner or an acceptable alternative and must be complete and accurate. The application must include the appropriate fee established in Minnesota Statutes, section 144.121, subdivision 1a.


The registrant is subject to all applicable requirements of this chapter.


The registrant should notify the commissioner within 30 days of the following changes:


relocating equipment within the facility;


change in radiation-producing equipment status, including sale, lease, or transfer;


change in location or disposition of any registered equipment;


any change in the facility that might impact radiation exposures such as remodeling involving removal of shielded walls or barriers;


administrator; or


radiation safety officer or other personnel identified on the registration as having responsibility for radiation safety within the facility.


A person shall not refer in any advertisement, to the fact that the ionizing radiation-producing equipment is registered with the commissioner, and shall not state or imply that the commissioner has approved any activity under such registration.

Subp. 3.

Issuance of notice of registration.


Upon receipt of registration, the commissioner shall issue a notice of registration. Each notice of registration shall expire at the end of the indicated month and year.


The commissioner may incorporate in the registration at the time of issuance or thereafter any additional requirements with respect to the registrant's receipt, possession, use, and transfer of radiation-producing equipment as the commissioner deems appropriate or necessary.

Subp. 4.

Renewal of registration.


Renewal of registration must be submitted according to this subpart. Each registrant must renew following the schedule in subpart 5 as long as the activity requiring registration continues.


The registrant must certify by signature or electronic signature that the information is accurate and complete.


If there has been any additional radiation-producing equipment or other substantial change made after the existing registration or renewal, the registrant must include all pertinent information regarding the addition or change.

Subp. 5.

Staggered schedule for renewal of registration.

Each registration under this chapter must be renewed on or before the first day of the calendar quarter specified in items A to D. The following schedule is based on the registrant's business address within the state:


Beginning January 1, 2008: Hennepin County registrants including the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis campus;


Beginning April 1, 2008: Ramsey, Anoka, Dakota, and Washington County registrants;


Beginning July 1, 2008: Aitkin, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Cook, Crow Wing, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, St. Louis, Becker, Beltrami, Big Stone, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, and Wilkin County registrants, and registrants whose business addresses are outside the state; and


Beginning October 1, 2007: Brown, Carver, Cottonwood, Faribault, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Sherburne, Sibley, Watonwan, Wright, Yellow Medicine, Blue Earth, Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Le Sueur, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Scott, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, and Winona County registrants.

Subp. 6.

Renewals affected by change of location.

A registrant whose business address changes from one county to another must renew the registration with the county of relocation according to the schedule in subpart 5. The registrant shall not be assessed penalty fees for not renewing with the county of previous location.

Subp. 7.

Change of ownership.

In addition to the notification required in subpart 1, the registration of the facility is not transferable as part of a change in ownership.

Statutory Authority:

MS s 144.12


32 SR 777

Published Electronically:

December 10, 2007

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes