Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Contractual fees.

The mortgagor may, in the mortgage, covenant to pay or authorize the mortgagee to retain an attorney's fee in case of foreclosure; but such fees in case of foreclosure by advertisement shall not exceed the following amounts, and any provision for fees in excess thereof shall be void to the extent of the excess:

Date of execution of mortgage
The original principal amount secured by the mortgage Before June 2, 1953 After June 1, 1953 and before June 1, 1971 After May 31, 1971
Less than $500 $25 $50 $150
$500-$1,000 50 75 150
$1,000-$5,000 75 125 150
$5,000-$10,000 100 175 225
Exceeding $10,000 200 225
plus $50 for each additional $10,000 or major fraction thereof
plus $35 for each additional $5,000 or major fraction thereof

Subd. 1a.Foreclosure by advertisement.

Notwithstanding subdivision 1 to the contrary, the minimum fee for foreclosure by advertisement of mortgages executed after July 31, 1992, is $500.

Subd. 2.Foreclosure by action.

The court shall establish the amount of the attorney's fee in case of foreclosure by action.

Subd. 3.When default less than 30 days.

If at the time of the commencement of the foreclosure proceedings, all of the items constituting said default were less than 30 days past due, then upon redemption the mortgagor shall not be required to pay the attorney's fee authorized in this section. This subdivision shall apply only to mortgages executed after May 31, 1971.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes