Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall make every effort for a period of 90 days after the seizure or recovery of abandoned or stolen property to return the property to the lawful owner or to the sheriff of the county from which it was stolen.

Any such property held by the bureau for more than 90 days, in case the owner cannot be found or if it cannot be determined from what county the property was stolen, shall be sold at public auction by the superintendent of the bureau, or the superintendent's agent, after two weeks' published notice thereof in a legal newspaper in Ramsey County, stating the time and place of the sale and a list of the property to be sold.

The proceeds of the sale shall be applied in payment of the necessary expenses of the sale and all necessary costs, storage, or charges incurred in relation to the property. The balance of the proceeds shall be paid into the general fund.


1941 c 389; 1969 c 399 s 1; 1979 c 333 s 97; 1986 c 444

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes