Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Filing reports.

(a) Each company must file with the commissioner the reports defined in sections 477B.01, subdivision 8, and 477C.01, subdivision 4, signed by the authorized representative of the company, on or before March 1 annually. The fire and extended coverage portion of multiperil package premiums and all other combination premiums must be determined by applying percentages determined by the commissioner or by rating bureaus recognized by the commissioner. The commissioner shall prescribe the content, form, and manner of the reports.

(b) The commissioner must notify each company that fails to timely file the report required under paragraph (a). The notice must demand that the company file the report within 30 days. Where good cause exists, the commissioner may extend the period for filing the report as long as a request for extension is filed by the company before the expiration of the 30-day period.

Subd. 2.Penalties.

(a) A company that fails to file the report on or before the due date in subdivision 1 is liable for a penalty equal to $25 for each seven days, or fraction thereof, that the report is delinquent, but not to exceed $200.

(b) Any person whose duty it is to file the report and who fails or refuses to file within 30 days after the postmark of the notice in subdivision 1 must be fined an amount of no more than $1,000.

(c) Any company that knowingly makes and files an inaccurate or false report is liable for a fine in an amount not less than $25 nor more than $1,000, as determined by the commissioner, and the commissioner of commerce may revoke the company's certificate of authority.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes