Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Penalties.

Any tax obligor violating this chapter is subject to a penalty of 100 percent of the tax in addition to the tax imposed by section 297D.08. The penalty will be collected as part of the tax.

Subd. 1a.Criminal penalty; sale without affixed stamps.

In addition to the tax penalty imposed, a tax obligor distributing or possessing illegal cannabis or controlled substances without affixing the appropriate stamps, labels, or other indicia is guilty of a crime and, upon conviction, may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than $14,000, or both.

Subd. 2.Statute of limitations.

Notwithstanding section 628.26, or any other provision of the criminal laws of this state, an indictment may be found and filed, or a complaint filed, upon any criminal offense specified in this section, in the proper court within six years after the commission of this offense.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes