Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.License.

A residential treatment program that serves an adolescent younger than 16 years of age must be licensed as a residential program for a child in out-of-home placement by the department unless the license holder is exempt under section 245A.03, subdivision 2.

Subd. 2.Alcohol and drug counselor qualifications.

In addition to the requirements specified in section 245G.11, subdivisions 1 and 5, an alcohol and drug counselor providing treatment service to an adolescent must have:

(1) an additional 30 hours of classroom instruction or one three-credit semester college course in adolescent development. This training need only be completed one time; and

(2) at least 150 hours of supervised experience as an adolescent counselor, either as a student or as a staff member.

Subd. 3.Staff ratios.

A counseling group consisting entirely of adolescents must not exceed 16 adolescents. It is the responsibility of the license holder to determine an acceptable group size based on the needs of the clients.

Subd. 4.Academic program requirements.

A client who is required to attend school must be enrolled and attending an educational program that was approved by the Department of Education.

Subd. 5.Program requirements.

In addition to the requirements specified in the client's treatment plan under section 245G.06, programs serving an adolescent must include:

(1) coordination with the school system to address the client's academic needs;

(2) when appropriate, a plan that addresses the client's leisure activities without substance use; and

(3) a plan that addresses family involvement in the adolescent's treatment.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes