Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Screening for substance use disorder.

A nurse or an alcohol and drug counselor must screen each patient upon admission to determine whether a comprehensive assessment is indicated. The license holder must screen patients at each admission, except that if the patient has already been determined to suffer from a substance use disorder, subdivision 2 applies.

Subd. 2.Comprehensive assessment and assessment summary.

(a) Prior to a medically stable discharge, but not later than 72 hours following admission, a license holder must provide a comprehensive assessment and assessment summary according to sections 245.4863, paragraph (a), and 245G.05, for each patient who has a positive screening for a substance use disorder. If a patient's medical condition prevents a comprehensive assessment from being completed within 72 hours, the license holder must document why the assessment was not completed. The comprehensive assessment must include documentation of the appropriateness of an involuntary referral through the civil commitment process.

(b) If available to the program, a patient's previous comprehensive assessment may be used in the patient record. If a previously completed comprehensive assessment is used, its contents must be reviewed to ensure the assessment is accurate and current and complies with the requirements of this chapter. The review must be completed by a staff person qualified according to section 245G.11, subdivision 5. The license holder must document that the review was completed and that the previously completed assessment is accurate and current, or the license holder must complete an updated or new assessment.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes