Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Construction permit.

A person must obtain a permit from the commissioner on forms provided by the commissioner before the person constructs or substantially alters:

(1) safeguards; or

(2) an existing facility used for the distribution, handling, or bulk storage of fertilizers, soil amendments, or plant amendments. The commissioner may not grant a permit for a site without safeguards that are adequate to prevent the escape or movement of the fertilizers from the site.

Subd. 2.Permit fees.

(a) An application for a new facility must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $100 for each location where fertilizer is stored.

(b) An application to substantially alter a facility must be accompanied by a nonrefundable $50 fee.

(c) An additional fee of $250 must be paid by a person who begins construction of, or substantially alters a bulk agricultural chemical storage facility before a permit is issued by the commissioner, except that the $250 additional fee may not be assessed if the person submits a permit application with the required fee to the commissioner before completing the construction or substantial alteration.

(d) An application for a facility that includes both fertilizers, as regulated under this chapter, and pesticides as regulated under chapter 18B shall pay only one application fee of $100.

Subd. 3.Exemption.

A permit and safeguard is not required for agricultural commodity producers who store, on their own property, for their own use, no more than 6,000 gallons of liquid commercial fertilizer.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes