Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Required documentation.

If the parties cancel a purchase of a motor vehicle after the transfer of interest, they must submit within 90 days of the original purchase date the following items:

(1) a written claim for refund;

(2) an affidavit correcting ownership signed by the parties; and

(3) the outstanding certificate of title, if available, with proper assignment.

Subd. 2.Refunds.

A party may be eligible for a refund of taxes paid pursuant to chapter 297B only if the items indicated in subdivision 1 are submitted within the 90-day time frame unless otherwise provided by law. No other taxes or fees paid may be refunded due to the cancellation of a motor vehicle sale.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes