Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

142I.22 COMMUNITY-BASED FAMILY CHILD CARE.

(a) A family child care program located on a site other than the license holder's primary residence must be licensed under this section if:

(1) the family child care program is conducted in a dwelling on a residential lot or in a commercial space other than the license holder's primary residence;

(2) the license holder is an organization, employer, church, or religious entity; or

(3) the license holder is a community collaborative child care provider. For purposes of this clause, a "community collaborative child care provider" is a provider participating in a cooperative agreement with a community action agency as defined in section 142F.301.

(b) Programs licensed under paragraph (a) must comply with local zoning regulations, the applicable State Fire Code, and the State Building Code. Any age and capacity limitations established by the fire code must be printed on the license.

(c) A license holder under this section must designate at least one primary provider of care as follows:

(1) one individual for programs operating eight or fewer hours per day;

(2) up to two individuals for programs operating more than eight but no more than 16 hours per day; and

(3) up to three individuals for programs operating more than 16 hours per day.

(d) The license issued under this section must include the statement: "This community-based family child care license holder is not licensed as a child care center."

(e) The commissioner may approve up to six licenses at the same location or under one contiguous roof if each license holder independently meets all applicable requirements and the program location site does not have an R-2 residential occupancy designation. Each family child care program must operate as a distinct family child care program within its licensed capacity, age, and ratio limits as determined by the state fire marshal. Only one license may be issued per single-family residential home.

(f) The license holder must notify the commissioner in writing before any change in the persons designated as primary providers of care. A primary provider of care is authorized to communicate with the commissioner on licensing matters.

(g) Each license holder must complete the commissioner-developed community-based family child care program plan at the time of initial application, review the plan each calendar year, and update the plan before any change in program information occurs.

NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, sections 1 to 23, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, section 26.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes