Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

142I.05 REPORTING TO AGENCY.

Subdivision 1.Maltreatment, abuse, and neglect reporting.

All caregivers who suspect, know, or have reason to believe a child is being or has been maltreated under section 260E.03, subdivision 12, must immediately report the information to the local welfare agency, agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, police department, county sheriff, Tribal social services agency, or Tribal police as required by chapter 260E.

Subd. 2.Other reporting.

Primary providers of care must notify the agency:

(1) prior to anyone moving into the residence where family child care services are provided. A background study must be completed in accordance with section 245C.13, subdivision 2;

(2) within ten calendar days after a household member has moved out of the residence where family child care services are provided;

(3) before a new caregiver provides direct contact services for the first time, unless an individual is acting as an emergency replacement according to section 142I.09, subdivision 2;

(4) of any damage to the premises that may affect compliance with this chapter or any incident at the premises that results in the loss of utility services, within 24 hours after the occurrence;

(5) within 24 hours after the occurrence of any serious injury, head injury, hospitalization, or death of a child in care. For the purposes of this clause, "serious injury" means an injury that reasonably requires the care of a health care provider or dentist; and

(6) within 24 hours after the occurrence of an animal bite in accordance with section 142I.19, subdivision 4.

NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, sections 1 to 23, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 13, section 26.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes