2026 Minnesota Statutes
142H.18 EXCLUSION OF SICK CHILDREN.
Subdivision 1.Care of sick children.
If a child becomes sick while at the center, the child must be isolated from other children in care and the child's parent called immediately. When determining if a child is sick and exclusion is necessary, license holders must follow:
(1) the requirements on reportable diseases in Minnesota Rules, parts 4605.7040, 4605.7070, and 4605.7080; and
(2) guidelines from the commissioner of health on infectious diseases in child care settings.
Subd. 2.Notification.
(a) A child care center's program policies must require a parent to inform the center within 24 hours, exclusive of weekends and holidays, when a child is diagnosed by a child's health care provider or dental care provider as having a reportable or infectious disease as specified in subdivision 1.
(b) The license holder must ensure that the commissioner of health is notified of any suspected case of reportable disease as specified in Minnesota Rules, part 4605.7040, 4605.7050, or 4605.7080, within 24 hours of receiving the parent's or staff report. Documentation of the notification must be kept at the center.
(c) The license holder must notify the parents of exposed children within 24 hours of when a parent, employee, or volunteer notifies the center of a reportable disease under subdivision 1, lice, scabies, impetigo, ringworm, or chicken pox. The notice must be posted in a clearly visible, accessible place or provided individually to each parent of a child who was exposed.
Subd. 3.Return to center.
Children with a reportable or infectious disease as specified in subdivision 1 must be excluded from the center for a length of time as specified in the commissioner of health guidelines on infectious diseases in child care settings and until the child can participate in routine activities without more staff supervision than usual. The center must exclude a child for a longer period if the child's health care provider determines that it is necessary.
History:
NOTE: This chapter, as added by Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, sections 1 to 37, is effective July 1, 2027. Laws 2026, chapter 127, article 12, section 41.
Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes